A day in Kandy


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Central Province » Kandy
December 7th 2013
Published: January 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

KandyKandyKandy

Bath House
Kandy overwhelms me. I am not much of a city person anyway but I hadn't expected it to be quite so full on. I am sure there are loads of great places to see here, but I took refuge by the lake which is beautiful with a low white wall all the way around, a lovely old bath house to one side and a little island in the middle. At one 'corner' of the lake was a little jetty where I saw a monitor lizard lazing about in the sun (it isn't raining in Kandy!). I spent the rest of the afternoon slowly walking up the hill to the place where I am staying and there was plenty to see including a giant snake that appeared from nowhere and disappeared in to someone's garden. I have no idea if it was poisonous but I find them fascinating and tried to follow it. I also passed a young guy - must have been nineteen, carving wood products by the side of the road. He was so interested in where I come from and where I had travelled. I chatted to him for a while about the few places in the world I
KandyKandyKandy

Bath House
had been. Watching his eyes light up reminded me what a privilege travelling is. Those of us fortunate enough to go away even once a year should never forget how lucky we are. I bought a mask from him - the fire demon Gini Raksha that the dancers wear to fend off enemies. He had made it himself and I watched him work for a while. These masks are for sale everywhere but this felt special because he had carved it.

Later on watched some dancers at the YMMA (Young Mens Muslim Association) which Kandy is famous for. The accompanying music is simply several drummers and some chanting and it's quite mesmerising. At the end they did firewalking - is this mind over matter as I was told? Or a trick?


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Kandy Kandy
Kandy

Lake
Kandy Kandy
Kandy

Monitor lizard
KandyKandy
Kandy

Pepper vine
KandyKandy
Kandy

Island on lake
Kandy Kandy
Kandy

Firewalkers at YMMA


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb