A Holy Mosh Pit


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Central Province » Kandy
December 17th 2013
Published: December 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Camilas and I have agreed that he will stay with me for another two days, taking me to Nurawa Eliya, and then I will take the train to my next destination. This meant that he came with me to buy the train ticket, which worked out very well. Queuing as a concept doesn’t seem to have made it Sri Lanka. In fact even in the middle of the train ticket transaction people were pushing in and elbowing me aside from the ticket window. Camilas’ elbows work pretty well too.

Imagine that concept on the roads. That is what driving is like here. I feel surprisingly calm about what would normally be multiple near-death scenarios. Camilas has avoided all head on crashes with oncoming busses and cars with split second precision timing. He has been driving for a long time, he told me he was in the army for 12 years during the civil war up north, where he drove an ambulance, so he’s been in much more treacherous conditions. Only once did I raise my eyebrows and made a comment, and then we both laughed. Surprisingly we have only seen one accident so far, and only one dead dog.

Sri Lanka is filled with dogs. It is very sad to see so many poor malnourished mangy looking animals. Most of them are in a very bad way. However all the dogs like to sleep on the road as it is warm, and they bask in the heat. Obviously with all the crazy driving this doesn’t lend itself to a long life, but I guess that they were never blessed with that in the beginning.

After an early start and a big climb to the top of the Sigiriya Rock, which was spectacular, Camilas and I set off on the road to Kandy. Again, Camilas had a number of stops in mind, including Sri Lanka's largest Hindu temple, a Batik factory, a wood carving factory and a herb garden. Luckily buying at each of these places was not obligatory. It was all very interesting, especially the herb garden and hearing about the natural remedies used in Ayurvedic medicine.

We stopped at a place that supposedly has been a family business for hundreds of years and they had been personal physicians to the Royal family. They talked about each of the plants and what it can help to cure. There is one plant that even cures cellulite, which I hadn’t realised had been a problem in the ancient Royal court. At the end of the tour I had a consultation with a doctor who told me what my problems were and gave me some prescriptions. For $120 per month, for six months, I would be cured forever of my ailments. Additionally he suggested a tonic to improve my memory and what he called my “lazy” mind, which would be $50. He also suggested I lose some weight, which I did think was a bit rich coming from such a rotund little man. Not surprisingly, the charlatan doctor’s advice went unheeded. Then he offered to find me a Sri Lankan husband. I said I’d get back to him.

Kandy is Sri Lanka’s second biggest city, although not very large with around 115,000 people. Because it was Poya, the full moon ceremony which happens every month, most everything was closed for the celebrations. Every month at Poya it is a public holiday, so Sri Lanka has an awful lot of public holidays! It also meant that on my third night, as well as the happy frogs, I went to sleep with the sound of Buddhist chanting and singing.

There's a lot to fill in your time in Kandy. It's known for Kandy cultural dancing, is the home to a very colourful and eccentric hotel, Helga's Folly, and also the massive sprawling Royal Botanic Gardens, which cover 147 acres. It's a beautiful space, and evidently the place to go for courting Kandy couples. Massive park-like gardens and a plant house, spice garden, orchid house, cactus house, herb garden plus a variety of gracious planted avenues. There was plenty to see, even if I did have to make a detour to avoid a troop of monkeys playing in the road.

However the thing that Kandy is most famous for is its Temple of the Tooth, and what a crush of people there were. It’s obviously a very sacred place, the home of Sri Lanka’s most important Buddhist relic – a tooth of the Buddha and we all know how big a tooth is. Imagine crowds of people - the tourists, fervent pilgrims, the curious - all trying to get a glimpse of the tooth. The tooth is kept inside a huge golden casket, which is inside a special temple, which mere mortals such as myself can only view from the doorway, and then only during evening prayers. And then it turns into a mosh pit, not very Zen at all.

First of all there’s a massive queue of people waiting to walk past the door when it is opened, for a glimpse and a brief prayer. Behind that there’s a little private area, surrounded by small gates, filled with people dressed in white and sitting quietly, praying and waiting. Just when I thought they couldn’t fit any more people in, the white-clad guards opened the gate and more people filed in. It reminded me of a sheep pen. Behind the sheep pen is a long table where people put their offerings, richly scented flowers, and people stand waiting to glimpse the tooth casket when the door is opened. This was where I was waiting.

The door finally opened and it seemed like all hell broke loose. Sri Lankan queuing techniques were in full force. People surged towards me from the left and the right, and there I was in the middle of it all, a holy mosh pit. I was the meat (or tofu) in a Buddhist sandwich. I had a mental image of the pictures from the Black Friday sales, it was like a religious stampede. I wiggled my way out, desperate for some space.

Camilas then took me downstairs to another kind of holy room, a tiny little space with Buddhas and books, yet more people crushing me all around. Then we went to the library, another tiny little room filled to capacity with fervent worshippers. I was well over it. However Camilas suggested we go back upstairs to glimpse the tooth.

At first it seemed like a good idea, things were much quieter up there, and I was very hopeful of getting an opportunity to see the tooth. But just as I was about to get my chance as I reached the vital spot, the guard shut the gate and he told me to wait. From then on it was very confusing. I waited, and waited and waited. Then they opened the gate for the sheep pen people and they got to go into the actual room. It seemed to take forever. Actually it did take forever. Then more people came into the sheep pen and their gates shut but they had to wait too. The door to the tooth room stayed shut and there was more waiting. And waiting. And waiting. Then finally FINALLY, the door to the tooth was re-opened and my gate opened too. It was my turn at last. After a nano-second at the opening to the room, I was moved on. But I got as close to the tooth as I could.

Madam’s luck is definitely holding. I got a ticket on the train for the 20th although it is fully booked from the 21st – 29th December. I got to see the tooth (kind of). And most importantly of all, it was sunny all day, so I was able to get laundry done and dried. Given I travelled to Sri Lanka with only hand luggage, this was very fortunate indeed. Yes, hand luggage for three weeks – my greatest achievement of 2013!


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



18th December 2013

You made me laugh again!
Why didnt you ask to see these potential husbands??? :D great blog Rachael enjoy your trip.
18th December 2013

I'm glad someone gets my sense of humour! I might've asked to see some potential husbands if I had liked the doctor more....I could've ended up with a very large bill!
18th December 2013

Lucky lady!
I remember so much of what you describe. Our driver didn't have as much luck as Camilas in taking us to his places of choice, as Mary had done lots of research and was rather forceful. I do remember him sticking out his bottom lip rather. But I also remember the driving which was definitely hair raising. They seem to manage to turn a 2 way road into 4 lanes of traffic and the precision with which they avoid oncoming traffic is incredible. I made it to Sigirya, but we avoided the tooth, as stories of queuing put us off. Our driver was rather disappointed with our lack of tenacity! 2 more days of work... hasn't quite wound down yet, but it will! Happy travels. Lucy xx
18th December 2013

I was very happy to go to Camilas' suggestions....and if I didn't want to go he wasn't fussed. The tooth thing was very interesting but wow...what a lot of people!!
18th December 2013

forgot to say...
... that I am sure that we stayed at Helga's (and I am pretty sure that there was a weird connection with London hatmakers, but can't now remember what). And your description of the Doctor's visit sounds very similar to our Mexican sharman experience, though I can't remember the shaman in Merida telling you that you had a lazy mind! L
19th December 2013

Helga's
My goodness, staying there would've been interesting! I found it fascinating, but kind of like a haunted house as there didn't seem to be any guests there, but there are more than 30 rooms. And I think that the last time anyone dusted was probably when you were there. They must be making all their money from tourists traipsing through and gawping at the hotel.
18th December 2013

Happy Christmas
Hi Rachael. What a great trip. Sylvia and I went to Sri Lanka in 1999 (before TB, sadly). Like you we stayed at Nagombo. We really enjoyed it. The second day we were there, there was a wedding in the village and we got invited. Wonderful event. Sylvia taught some of the women how to bellydance. It was as though they had won a lottery. They were so excited. From there we went to Colombo - which is just another city albeit a bit exotic - but we stayed with a family whose first child Sylvia had delivered in Newcastle, NSW. There is always a different feel to a place when you are more than just a tourist. We were taken to places we would not have seen on our own including the local temple and attached primary school where the children sang us songs and we gave them sweets and told them about Australia. Sadly, that area was badly impacted by the tsunami and we have not been able to contact anyone from there again. From there we went to Nur Eliya by "first class" train - the toilet had a seat but the carriage went backwards so you could see where you had been! Serendipitously we had logged on to the Dilmah Tea website and discovered that they were converting one of their tea factories into a hotel. We sent them an email asking when it would open and actually got a response from Merrill Fernando inviting us to stay with them. They sent a driver to meet us at the station and treated us like royalty. Merrill had been called to a conference in London but we met Dilhan and Mahlik (= Dilmah) and many of the family. We also went wandering around the tea plantation and talked with the (mostly) tamil workers and their children. Sylvia, being a herbalist among other skills, asked them about the plants we saw growing and learned what they were used for and was also able to tell them about uses they were not aware of. It was an enchanting and energising experience. This is almost turning into a blog in its own right so I better stop here. Hope your experience of Sri Lanka is as rewarding as ours was. See you next year back in Sydney. John
19th December 2013

What a fabulous experience you had! I am in Nurawa Eliya right now and I love it. I have not met the Dilmahs though! I will be heading to the coastal areas in a few more days time, which I am excited about. So far I'm loving this trip, I'd love to hear more about your experiences here, so look forward to catching up back in Australia. Lovely to hear from you.
19th December 2013

Nice blog
Brings back heaps of memories Rachael. An entertaining and informative read. Thanks!
19th December 2013

Good to hear from you....which part of the world are you in now? Somewhere interesting I am sure!
19th December 2013
Helga's hotel

MY KINDA
Wow...my kinda hotel...ecclectic as. Who needs to worship a tooth when you have such great digs. Which is your room?
19th December 2013
Helga's hotel

It was a really cool hotel, but I wasn't staying there. It's also really expensive at $200 US a night. Great hotel, but a little tatty now. Definitely was worth the visit though.
19th December 2013

Camilas defender of good
Good thing Camilas decided to stay with you for a couple of days. For some reason in other countries I become desensitized to the near death experiences on the roads but in the U.S. they make me nervous. I guess we are moving faster over here. (sometimes) I would have enjoyed the herb garden.
20th December 2013

I think you're right about the speed, also because everyone is driving the same way you are all on the lookout for danger, while at home a crazy overtaking manoeuvre is unexpected... The herb garden was actually really interesting. Lots that Western medicine can learn.
19th December 2013

Helga's hotel looks great as does the sausage tree, I have never seen a grass collection and doubt I will again very funny
20th December 2013

Thanks - I've never seen a sausage tree either, I loved it! Great to hear from you. I have been following your travels in Burma. Possibly my next trip!

Tot: 0.333s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 41; qc: 161; dbt: 0.2017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb