Dealing with the Language Barrier


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Yongin
January 5th 2012
Published: January 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

"Toilet paper, please""Toilet paper, please""Toilet paper, please"

Kate Teacher gets to practise writing in Korean
Now that I've been here in Korea for about a week, I've managed to pick up a few words, such as hello and thank you. I can also count to ten, and am learning to write the numbers in Korean. I can write 1-5 well, but am still working on writing 6-10 independently. My students are quite amused when they see me practising on the board while we're between classes. I can read the days of the week, but can't write them yet.

When I first arrived at my dorm, my room didn't have any toilet paper. Brandon, my coordinator, managed to find the end of a roll for me for the time being, but I still ran out a few days later. I got to put my Korean writing to the test, to ask the custodians for some TP, since they didn't when I was out when I first arrived. Thankfully, my writing was clear enough for the ladies to understand!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Writing is as Easy as 1,2,3Writing is as Easy as 1,2,3
Writing is as Easy as 1,2,3

Practising writing my numbers during a class break.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb