First Entry


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Yongin
April 7th 2009
Published: April 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Leaving

Getting my visa, selling my car, packing and booking a flight to SK all happened

in a week. Needless to say, it was hectic. I was left with surprisingly little

information about my work and accomodation; they just basically said "fly over

and we'll have a caravan pick you up." Hey thanks guys, I appreciate the detail

when you consider the length of time I plan to stay here.

***

The Un-Hawaii Weather

When I first got of the airport, it was probably around 50 degrees F. Being that

the airplane and airport were controlled environments (i.e. warm as hell), I

didn't mind it when I first stepped outside at 6PM with only 3 layers of

clothes. I exhaled and was greeted by the unfamiliar sight of my breath. The

driver offered me a cigarette... while I was dragging my luggage across a

crosswalk. I took it because I didn't want to be rude... and it also looked

appealing considering the cold temperature (well, as appealing as a cigarette

can look).

During the ride, I realized how much being in a moving vehicle can accentuate

cold weather -- my hand, hanging from the caravan window, went numb in about 15

seconds. When I finally arrived, I was greeted by the other English teachers who

are Korean nationals. At this point, it was nightfall and I was shivering. We

ate at Uncle Tomato, I was introduced to my apartment, and my face was

introduced to the pillow.

***

The Frustration of Educators

Seongji Middle School welcomed me with open arms. I was glad to be here and I

expected an astute set of students. I mean, no students could have been worse

than the ones at my own middle school, so these Korean kids in this

academically-emphasized society should be cake in relation... right? Oh boy,

somebody must've slipped something into my kim chi jigae when I had that

thought.

I'm not exactly Michelle Pfieffer from "Dangerous Minds," but after my first

morning of classes today, I feel like I understand kids a little better. Kids,

though they have varying temperaments, all respond in the same way when they are

forced to do something they don't want to: they act out. For some, this simply

means reading a comic book. For others, this means sleeping. And for others this

means talking to their friends. And for some at my own intermediate school, this

meant shouting obscenities or making threats to the teacher. It's all acting out.

So comes the frustration: you have 1/2 a class that is wanting to learn, but

another 1/2 that is disruptive and could maybe care less. And thus, the big

question that all educators probably have thought long and hard about: what do

you do with the latter half? I guess I'll see how I answer this in a month or so.

***

Boy, what a week.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb