Another day, another 100 000 won


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
August 2nd 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

PAY DAY! Yes, we got paid today. Our bank accounts were not ready (not sure why bother?) so we were paid in cash. 100 000 won! (That's close to $120 CDN) Not a lot of money, but exciting nonetheless.

Another difficult day with these kids as they really don't understand much of what I say. Had I known it would be this difficult, I would have brought flashcards, but when you don't know what you're getting, it's hard to plan ahead, especially if you're going to be traveling for 2 weeks after camp finishes.

The funniest part is that the students have to write and present a speech about the Korea Land Corporation (the company housing, arranging, and paying for this English camp). None of the kids in my class know what a job is, let alone what their parents do or how to say it in English! How are they going to promote the company in their speech? I think I may end up writing three sentences for them, ask them to read it aloud, and pick the best reader to compete. Obviously they won't win the competition! How demoralizing!

Tomorrow we're on a field trip to a mud park??? We still don't have clear information on where this is or what the deal is, but apparently you go, they give you a jumpsuit to put on, and then you play in the mud! I think I will sit this one out and watch from the sidelines. Given all my allergies (which until now have been kept at bay), I don't think it would be smart to get covered in mud. I'll let you know how it goes.

Dinner tonight was pretty good. Spaghetti in tomatio sauce with mushrooms, rice (of course), salad, and watermelon and banana. I've never eaten so much fruit in my life! At least it's something I recognize. I wonder what they'll give us for lunch tomorrow while we're out....

My poor legs and feet are crying out for some sleep and we have to get up early tomorrow. I'm off to bed! (I know, 10pm--what's wrong with Sue????) 😉

Advertisement



3rd August 2006

Payday
Well, kids are the same everywhere. How to drive the teacher crazy by pretending not to understand. It's an uphill battle kiddo but just another week and it'll be worth it! Hang-on tight, Sue, because by the time you come back, you'll be a kimchi addict. Spyros
3rd August 2006

The Korean Land Corporation?
How old are these kids? How would they do a speech on the Korean Land Corporation? (If I can't imagine Rachel or Michael doing one, how are these kids going to do this?) Oh well, at least you can talk about the time you "won 100 000" -- I mean the time you earned 100 000 won.
3rd August 2006

Kooky Koreans
Yes, the kids are the same everywhere, but having seen their blank faces, I think that they REALLY don't understand me. They've told their Korean CC (in Korean) that the class is too hard (and I'm barely doing anything!). The kids are about 10 or 11 years old (grade 5 or 6) and I think I will have to write the speech for them (3 sentences might be pushing it) and have them read it. Especially since their writing is like "Hockey fun."

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb