South Korea - Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 6th 2016
Published: November 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

On the road again !On the road again !On the road again !

Dans le Ferry entre Macao et Hong Kong pour aller à l'aéroport. In the ferry from Macau to Hong Kong to go to the airport.
J’ai pris le ferry depuis Macao, pour me rendre à l’aéroport International de Hong Kong direction Séoul! Ma première motivation était de retrouver Juliette. Ensuite bien évidemment découvrir la capitale de la Corée du Sud et d’autres endroits du Pays: l’île de Jeju, puis Busan.



I took the ferry from Macau, to get to the International airport of Hong Kong, to fly to Séoul! My very first motivation was to visit Juliette. Then, of course, it was to discover the capital of South Korea, so as other places in this country: The Island of Jeju and then Busan.



Dès que je suis arrivée, je me suis directement sentie en pleine sécurité, les gens dans les rues semblaient cools, détendus, respectueux, ouverts d’esprits, en résumé leur démarche montre tout de suite qu’ils sont gentils. Ensuite les rues et les stations de métro sont hypers propres, on pourrait limite lécher le sol et les murs!



As soon as I arrived, I felt myself totally safe. The people in the streets seemed to be cool, relaxed, respectful, open minded, to summarise, their attitude directly shows you that they are nice. Then I was really surprised by the clean streets, underground stations, we could almost lick the floor and the walls!



Comme je suis arrivée le soir je me suis directement rendu à mon auberge de jeunesse: Michigan House. J’ai de suite été accueillie à bras grands ouverts, quand je leur ai dit que ma copine Marie, m’avait conseillé de séjourner chez eux. Marie étant une de leurs amies. Du coup mon séjour ici fut agréable pour cette ambiance chaleureuse et amicale. D’ailleurs dans les auberges on doit retirer nos chaussures, du coup on se sent un peu à la maison, à se balader en chaussette et en pouvant utiliser tous les produits de beauté dans la salle de bain, et oui on est presque chez mémé!
Cette auberge se situe dans le quartier de Hongik, un petit quartier calme en apparence, mais très prisés des jeunes pour ses bars, restos, bancs dans les rues pour les rencontres entre amis, sans parler de toutes ses boutiques trop tentantes!



Since I arrived in the evening, I directly went to my hostel: Michigan House. I was advised by my friend Marie. Marie being one of their friends. My stay here was really pleasurable in this warm and friendly atmosphere. In fact, in the hostels, in South Korea, we have to take our shoes off, so you feel a bit like if you were at home, by walking around in socks. We can also use all the products in the bathroom, a bit like if we were at granny’s!

This hostel, in Seoul, is located in Hongik area, a little calm district in appearance, but actually, this place attracts a lot of Students with its numerous bars, benches in the streets, that are here for people to meet and chill with their friends, without talking about all the small little shops, which are really tempting!



Vendredi je me suis promener au Palais Gyeongbokgung c’était vraiment incroyablement beau! C’est fou car on est quand même en plein centre-ville et en plus de la capitale, et pourtant on a l’impression d’être au milieu de la nature, avec tous ces arbres, dans ce parc gigantesque, on arrive à se sentir tranquille et loin de la foule. J’y suis retournée le soir avec Juliette et ses nouvelles amies super-sympas, de l’université. Juliette est aussi en expatriation académique comme moi, mais à côté de Séoul. Cette fois nous avons loué des costumes traditionnels Coréens aussi appelés "Handbok".



On Friday, I visited the Palace Gyeongbokgung and It was incredibly beautiful!
It’s crazy, because we are in the city center and in the Capital, however we feel like being in the middle of the nature, with all these trees, in this gigantic park, we can even manage to find some quiet and peaceful areas, far from all the tourists, in this park. I went back there in the evening with Juliette and her new really friendly friends from university. Juliette, is also on an exchange program, like me, but in a city next to Seoul. This time, we rented some traditional Korean costumes, also called
"Handbok".



Après avoir rendu nos belles robes, nous sommes allées manger un barbecue coréen. C’est vraiment très convivial, on a une genre de plaque électrique sur laquelle on fait cuir des fines lamelles de viande et quelques légumes. On avait un bol de riz à côté et des grandes feuilles de salade, et bien évidemment différentes sauces d’accompagnement. Le principe c’est un peu de manger avec les doigts, car on prend la grande feuille de salade dans une main et à l’intérieur de cette feuille nous ajoutons un peu de riz, des petits morceaux de viande et des légumes, puis on referme la feuilles bien garnie et on la trempe dans une sauce avant de la déguster allègrement.

On a aussi bu du Soju, de l’alcool coréen vraiment très bon quand c’est aromatiser, je ne l’ai goûté qu’à l’arôme de pamplemousse, mais câpres Juliette avec l’arôme de pomme c’est encore meilleur.



After giving our pretty dresses back, we ate a Korean barbecue. It was really “convivial”. It is presented as an electric hotplate, on which we’d bake different meats (chicken or pork or even beef), depending on what you order, and you’d also bake a few vegetables. You can order a bowl of rice with it too, and this is what we did. Then we have some leaves of salad and some accompanying sauces. So now “How do we eat?” is the question. Well, basically, you take the leaf of salad and put it into one of your hands, with the other hand, you will put some rice in it (the leaf of salad), add a small piece of meat and some vegetables. Then we fold up the leaf of salad and dip the whole thing in some sauce and then we bite it and savour it nicely in our palate.
We also drank some Soju, some typical Korean alcohol. It tastes really good when it is flavoured. I only tried the grapefruit taste one, but apparently , Juliette says the apple flavour, tastes even better.



Samedi je me suis levé un peu plus tôt et je me suis énormément balader un peu partout dans la capitale, histoire de m’en mettre plein les yeux! Avec les métros, c’est facile aussi de se déplacer, néanmoins d’après mon iPhone j’ai parcouru 19,5 km à pied, rien que ça! Je me suis d’abord bien rebaladée dans mon quartier, avant de prendre le métro direction le coeur de la capitale. J’ai découvert une belle petite église, non loin d’un autre palais que je n’ai pas visité par manque de temps. Puis j’ai marché le long d’une petite rivière pendant un bon moment, c’était comme marcher sur les quais de l’Ill à Strasbourg. Après je me suis retrouvé dans une genre de petite zone commerciale où il y avait pas mal de vendeurs de tissus, et de vieux machins confondus entre des vieilles lampes, des câbles, des véhicules, de tout et n’importe quoi dans de toutes petites boutiques, on ne voyait même pas le vendeur, ni même la couleur du sol et des murs, des vraies boutiques à bazars, pour ceux qui connaissent, ça m’a fait penser à la chambre de secours du Bosc (pour les autres, Le Bosc est notre maison de vacances et cette pièce est un peu un fourre-tout).



On Saturday, I woke up a little earlier and explored quite a lot of different places of the capital, in order to see as many things as possible! With all the tubes, it is quite easy to go anywhere you like. Nevertheless, my iPhone told me that I had walked 19.5km, during the day! I first revisited in my district, before taking the underground towards the heart of the capital. I discovered a cute little church, nearby another palace, that I didn’t visit by lack of time. I then walked on the quays of this little stream, for a while. I felt like walking along the river called, L’Ill, in Strasbourg (France). After, I found myself in this little commercial zone, where there was quite a few, silk shops, so as shops selling all kinds of old stuff such as lamps, cables, carpets, chairs, etc… all in one little boutique. We could not even see the colour of the walls, neither of the floor! They were real messy shops.



Après avoir passé ce quartier intéressant, je me suis arrêtée dans une supérette pour acheter un casse-croûte, car mon estomac commençait un à bien gargouiller. Comme Juliette m’avait parlé des Gimbap, à absolument goûter, j’en ai acheté 2 pour mon déjeuner. Un Gimbap ou Kimbap (ça dépend des gens je crois, comme pain au chocolat et chocolatine), sont des genres de sushis géants coréens. J’ai vraiment trouvé ça très bon, à part celui avec une sauce rouge car il était bien trop épicé pour mon petit palais. Comme ce sont l’équivalent des sandwiches, il y a bien entendu, différents goûts, soit avec de la viande, du boeuf, porc, poulet soit au poisson et je n’ai vu qu'au thon, qui fut mon préféré d’ailleurs.



Once I past this interesting place, I stopped myself in a 7 Eleven (little grocery store) to grab some food, because my stomach was beginning to starve. Since Juliette, told me to absolutely try Gimbaps, well, I bought two for lunch. Gimbaps or Kimbap (I think it depends on the people, like tin and can in British or American), look like giant Korean sushis. I really appreciated it, except for the one with the red sauce, because it was too spicy for me. As there are a few different tastes, some are with meat (pork, beef, chicken), others with fish (tuna). So they are the equivalent of our western sandwiches.
My favourite one is the tuna Kimbap.



Je suis passée devant le Musée Culturel de Séoul avant d’aller escalader une partie d’un rempart de la ville pour pouvoir profiter d’une belle vue sur la capitale.



I went past the Cultural Museum of Seoul, before climbing up a little part of the fortress of the city, to enjoy a nice view of the capital.




Après avoir pris le métro pour quelques stations je me suis rendu sur cette petite montagne qui donne une autre magnifique vue sur cette grande ville entourée de plein de belles montagnes qui m’ont un peu rappelé les Alpes en Europe.



After retaking the metro for a few stops, I decide to go up this small mountain, which gives us a wonderful view, on the entire huge town, surrounded by a chain of magnificent mountains! They reminded me a bit of the Alps in Europe.



Le soir commença petit à petit à arriver et donc l’heure fut pour moi de rejoindre Juliette de l’autre côté du beau fleuve qui traverse Séoul. Nous avions rendez-vous pour voir un festival de feux d’artifice avec plein d’autres étudiants, et c’est là que j’ai eu la belle surprise de revoir Jo! Il est notre cher ami chinois; de la promo de Bachelor Management du Tourisme à Sup de Co La Rochelle; lui aussi en expatriation avec Juliette.

Nous étions un bon mélange de nationalités car tous étudiants expatriés, mais une majorité d’hispanophones du monde entier et puis vinrent les Français et puis les autres, du coup on parlait 3 langues en même temps, espagnol, français et anglais. C’était vraiment une super-belle soirée, bien qu’il faisait froid.
On a vu 3 feux d’artifice de 3 pays différents: le Japon, l’Espagne et la Corée du Sud.
Le plus beau, le plus magique, le plus original fut le Japon! C’est fou la longueur d’onde d’avance qu’ils ont par rapport à tout le monde, dans leurs feux il y avait des vraies formes comme dans les dessins animés: des têtes de filles, de garçons, d'Hello Kitty, des coeurs, etc… c’était incroyable! J’ai tout simplement été fan du leur.




The evening slowly started to show itself, so this also meant that I had to meet up with Juliette on the other side of the river, that goes across Seoul. Juliette and her Spanish friendwere waiting for me at the underground station, and I was happily surprised to see that Jo was with her! Jo is our dear Chinese friend; from our Bachelor of Tourism Management promotion at Sup de Co La Rochelle Business School of Tourism. He is with Juliette for the expatriation program.

We met, with many other international, exchange students, to watch an international festival of fireworks. Most of the students came from Spanish speaking countries, then from France, and then others from different places in the world. So we were actually speaking 3 languages: Spanish, French and English all at once!
This evening was really fun, even if were freezing cold.
We saw 3 fireworks shows from Japan, Spain and South Korea. My favourite one, was the Japanese one! It was the most beautiful, original and magic one! It is crazy how much advance, they have on us on the way of making fireworks! It was like seeing a cartoon firework, but in reality! They made all kinds of shapes, like hearts, girls and boys' heads, some Hello Kitty heads, etc.. it was just amazing! I think I am a total fan of their fireworks!



Jusqu’à présent je suis toujours aussi impressionnée de la gentillesse des Coréens. Dès que je regardais mon plan ou que j’avais l’air un peu perdu, il y avait toujours une ou plusieurs personnes qui venaient vers moi, pour m’aider. Une autrefois, j’étais assise entrain de fouiller dans mon sac à main, quand deux petites dames âgées se sont approchées de moi pour me parler. Elles ne parlaient que le Coréen, mais avaient vraiment envie de me faire comprendre quelque chose donc se sont débrouillées pour avec des gestes et en parlant de plus en plus doucement et à la fin j’ai compris qu’elles me disaient qu’elles me trouvaient jolie. Ça m’a vraiment touchée, surtout que ça venait du coeur. Une autrefois, j’étais dans l’ascenseur du métro, bon jusque-là on se dit oui, bon être avec d’autres gens c’est normal, on s’en fiche de toute façon dans l’ascenseur en général on ignore tout le monde comme tout le monde nous ignore également, mais cette fois c’était bien différent, certaines personnes 2 ou 3, m’ont regardé et m’ont fait un beau et gentil sourire sincère en guise bonjour et bienvenue. Le fait de se sentir considéré par d’autres à des moments totalement inattendus fait vraiment un bien fou!




Until now, I have been impressed by the kindness of Korean people.
Whenever I was looking at my map, or that I looked a little bit lost, there was always, someone coming up to me to help me. Another time, I was sitting at some place looking for something in my bag, and these two little old ladies, came up to me and tried to tell me something all in Korean, as it was the only language, they seemed to know. By using gestures, and by repeating themselves slower and slower, (I have never studied a word of Korean), they managed to make me understand that they found me pretty. The way they told me it by making so much effort, to make me understand what they had at their heart, really affected me. Another time, in the elevator of the underground, until now, we think yes, everything seems totally normal to share it with other unknown people, that we care about. This time it was very different, 2 or 3 persons, in the elevator, were considering me, by giving me a very nice and sincere smile, like if they were telling me “Hello and welcome in our country!”. The fact of feeling considered by others, at moments like this which you don’t expect, really makes you feel so much better, and procures you so much goodness!




Jusqu’à présent tous les échanges que j’ai eus, sont très humain et c’est pour ça que j’adore les Coréens et que j’ai adoré Séoul!




So far, all the exchanges I have had, were very human! This is why I love Koreans and that I have loved staying in Seoul!




Dimanche, je suis retournée à l’aéroport, pour m’envoler sur l’île de Jeju…




On Sunday I went back to the airport, to fly to Jeju Island…


Additional photos below
Photos: 331, Displayed: 34


Advertisement

HongdaeHongdae
Hongdae

1er repas: Du poulet très épicé! 1st meal: Very spicy chicken!


16th November 2016

Excellent blog
Many thanks. Very well written. Your blog makes me dream. Keep going!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb