I should probably stay up later than 9pm


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 20th 2010
Published: March 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's 6:30 in the morning and I've been up for over 2 1/2 hours! Darn jet lag. I've been watching videos about English Grammar, trying to freshen up my skills before training starts tomorrow. So this is the deal: If you fail the basic knowledge and skills test, you are not hired, and therefore unemployed in a foreign country with no money to buy a ticket home. Ha ha, let's hope this does NOT happen. We have been watching videos, taking online quizzes over the material, and doing practice questions. Not going to lie, some of the grammar questions really messed me up.
1. My brother is only five feet tall. If he ____a foot taller, he would be a great basketball player.
a. was b. is c. were

I realize c may sound better, but I didn't think a was incorrect. And it is.

7. My brother pawned his guitar to pay his rent. If only I ____enough money, I would have paid his rent for him.
a. had had b. would have had c. both a&b are correct

Yep, I though they both sounded great. But no, would have had is wrong. Basically, I have some studying to do!

I think one of the first questions I will ask at training is "how do I sign up for Korean classes?" It is no fun feeling like a stupid American all the time. I realize I'm not stupid just because I can't speak the language but it definitely makes you feel slightly awkward and embarrassed. One of the sentences in our practice packets says: Although Americans love to travel to foreign countries, they seldom learn to speak other languages. The question here is what kind of clause is Although Americans love to travel to foreign countries. Adjective, adverb, or noun? You tell me! I can pick the right answer on most questions but the hard part is explaining why. I wish I would have payed attention in Modern Grammar in college. Actually, no I don't; it was completely boring and taught to me by an Asian women. I had trouble even understanding what she was saying. I guess it's my turn to play that part. ha ha!

I guess I should try to sleep a little longer into the morning so I can get adjusted. The constant 8 loud clicks, then 8 seconds of silence coming from the air conditioner makes for a soothing sleep. But, it's better than last night when we couldn't figure out how to turn it on. Indoor places are kept VERY warm around here.

Advertisement



21st March 2010

Wow, jet lag is in full affect. I totally studied all of that stuff you are talking for 5 weeks over the summer in a TESOL class. It was the hardest class. I did not put into it what I needed to put into to really learn all that stuff...ugh. Probably should have. I had a great (and hard) teacher, but it was so hard for me to understand and I had tons of other classes and better things to do over the summer so I didn't put much into it. :/ It's the only B+ of all my classes at Western, and I only got a B+ because there were lots of projects to even out how bad I did on every single quiz... I have so many worksheets, books, and resources from my teacher I wish I could show you. Anyways, good job studying. You guys will pass the test...of course!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb