Korea got Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
July 27th 2008
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Part 1: The first half of my 40 hour day

Sunday July 27, 2008 - A day that began with indecision. Really not that unusual for me these days. I arrived in South Korea around 9am and had to decide what I would do with my twelve hour layover. The original plan was to go into the city for the day, and just look around. Then, after a night flight with little sleep, I thought maybe I would stay in the airport and just rest. Then there was also the option of a tour that started and ended at the airport. Could I handle a tour? In the end I decided no. Finally, after a couple hours of research and hassling the info lady, I decided I may as well go into Seoul for the afternoon, since I was here anyway. I bought my ticket for the bus and had a seat to wait for it. As fate would have it, the girl next to me was American and had exactly the same plan and decision crisis as I did in the morning. Jane also decided to go into the city for the day, so we did it together. It was unexpected, making a friend at this time, but quite nice. It's easier to be motivated when you are with someone else. We spent the hour bus ride chatting on the way into the gray city. It's rainy season, and it was cloudy the whole day. Periodic drizzle, but nothing to get in our way.

We alighted at the bus stop near (Forget the name) Palace. We went inside the grounds and at first were not too impressed. But then we moved in further. It was enormous. So much to see really. It was quite beautiful, with some gardens as well. We then decided to walk to another palace that we thought was close by, but it turned out to be quite far away. We stopped along the way for some Korean food. Had only a vague idea of what we were ordering, including Kim Chee and Octopus something or another. It came with several small side dishes that were equally fun and yummy.

Then we were off walking again. We made it to the other palace and had to go on a tour, the only way to see it. Jane could only stay for 30 min and then she had to get the bus back to the airport. I stayed for the whole 80 min tour but was exhausted at the end of it. Got some good pictures of a bug though... After the tour it was back to the airport for me. Found Jane, said good bye and then found the free internet, which cancelled out any chance of finding the free showers which I so badly needed. Priorities....


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



14th October 2008

Great pictures!
Hey - that was when we were Facebookering wasn't it? When you were in Seoul airport? I was partly responsible for your unwashed state! It's like the butterfly flapping its wings thing. A Scotsman in New Zealand's typing finger can cause a plane in Korea to be contaminated by an unwashed American girl. Cause and effect. Wow.

Tot: 0.424s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 31; qc: 123; dbt: 0.2055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb