Changedeokgung Palace


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
November 4th 2007
Published: November 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ChangdeokgungChangdeokgungChangdeokgung

Main entry
Time to get some culture. Seoul has a lot of palaces, but I decided to limit my palace experience to the World Heritage Listed Changdeokgung which had the thumbs up from most people I spoke to as the the best one. This was usually accompanied by the old adage ... seen one ... seen them all. With only 4 days to see the sights, I decided to take their advice.

This palace is a massive palace with lots of building set in extensive grounds. The only way to visit is as part of a tour so I joined 100 or so other English speakers on a wander around the palace. Naturally, being a little snap happy I admit I missed most of the detail, but I figure photographs paint a better picture anyway.

I will say that my favourite part was an area known as 'the Secret Garden' which was used as a private garden for the Emperor and his family. It's a beautiful area tucked in among the forest with a pool, pavilions and some beautiful autumn trees providing some natural beauty.

Enjoy the pics!




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Bridge over no waterBridge over no water
Bridge over no water

A dry little moat
Entrance CourtyardEntrance Courtyard
Entrance Courtyard

only one person between me and a cracker of a shot
Audience HallAudience Hall
Audience Hall

No people ... all 100 odd are out of shot ... a miracle
Audience Hall (internal)Audience Hall (internal)
Audience Hall (internal)

Nice decs, bit formal for my taste
Water Bowl & Roof detailWater Bowl & Roof detail
Water Bowl & Roof detail

The water bowl is to keep fire demons at bay
Monkey Magic ...Monkey Magic ...
Monkey Magic ...

Allow me to present ... Monkey ... Sandy ... Pigsy ... no idea where Tripitaka is
Fancy locksFancy locks
Fancy locks

better than a padlock
RailingRailing
Railing

Only the royals could have painted houses
Me ...Me ...
Me ...

Had to pop up somewhere
Secret GardenSecret Garden
Secret Garden

One of the Pavilions
Secret Garden PoolSecret Garden Pool
Secret Garden Pool

my favourite bit
Secret Garden & MeSecret Garden & Me
Secret Garden & Me

Me and my garden
A PavilionA Pavilion
A Pavilion

Nature provides the extra element of beauty
A nobleman's houseA nobleman's house
A nobleman's house

So the Emporer could experience what it was like to be 'normal'


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb