in transit and bonus visit to Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 8th 2006
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

a peek at an old Korean court a peek at an old Korean court a peek at an old Korean court

walking around and I was stumble at this festive seen
Left Brussels at noon by train to Amsterdam Schiphol airport for my evening flight to Saigon, vietnam via Seoul. Check-in was early and I got my supermarket chicken rossitte bought from supermarket for lunch. Lingered at the Schiphol airport and purchsed a 1-git memory card for my digital carmera. My ATM worked wonder at Schiphol. The flight was long to South Korea.

The plane from Europe to Korea does not equip with personal screen monitor at the headrest in the front of your seat. This made the long flight was not an enjoyable one. Yet, I had good airline food (believe or not, surprise, even myself) and we landed safely in Seoul. Breakfast was served with Rice porridge with green tea with seasonings. Dinner was Seaweed soup and traditional korean food of bibimbab (rice, chilli paste, pickle veggies, meats).

Arrived in Seoul in the morning and I had spare time to make my connection flight so I took the bus to the city for a short visit . It wasnot a quick and easy ride andI did not know where to get off. Yet, I managed.

Seoul is crowded and the rain was quickly comming in to ruin my short time of a visit in the capital of South Korea. I made a quick look at a traditional Korean royal palace...walked around in drizzled rain in the backpacker district in the eastern part of Seoul. Lots of Japanese eateries here too.

Took the bus back to the airport way earlier than expected due to rain but I did not want to miss the flight so I spent some time in the airport and had some inexpensive korean food (very spicy) at the lowest level of the airport and then head back to the upper level for more duty shop browsings. The shops were crowded and the prices were more expensive than other airports I've been too.

Next stop: Saigon, vietnam




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Korean pharmacyKorean pharmacy
Korean pharmacy

Ginseng anyone ?


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 24; qc: 114; dbt: 0.0935s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb