Thanksgiving at the Ambassador's


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
November 26th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This weekend, all of the Fulbright ETA's were invited to the American Ambassador's residence for a big Thanksgiving meal. I, of course, was all about eating some turkey this Thanksgiving and headed up to Seoul on Friday, prepared to eat big platefuls of the stuff come Saturday.

Saturday morning, some Fulbright friends and I hit up the huge Kyobo bookstore (of course, focusing our efforts on the English section-- they had loads of novels and every other kind of book--how exciting!) before heading over to the Ambassador's house (yes, we actually ate our dinner in the Ambassador's house) to receive our turkey, gravy, ham, mashed potatoes, steamed veggies, salads, bread, and pumpkin/apple/chocolate/cherry pie. How amazing! It was great to see everyone again, though briefly, and it was nice to be able to celebrate an American Thanksgiving in a place where, well, to be quite literal about it, turkey is hard to find. As is American football.

Well, I missed the American football, minus a brief few minutes I watched it before leaving the motel on Saturday, and the Macy's Day Parade (maybe I can find it streaming online on Thursday?), but I still had a great time. We even sang the Star Spangled Banner (and a traditional Korean song). How much more American can you get?

So, I am thankful for many things this year, including that wonderful dinner. I'm thankful for my family and friends, both stateside and in Korea, for the great opportunity I have to be here for a year or so, for my school and my youthful, vibrant students, for my and my family's health, for graduating college, and for so many other things I can hardly write them all down (that's a task for the actual Thanksgiving Day, perhaps).

And, in true Thanksgiving spirit, I'm teaching my students a lesson on American Thanksgiving this week--replete with pictures of all the delicious foods we eat. AND I'm showing them a sitcom (Everybody Loves Raymond) featuring its Thanksgiving episode. (I recommend it to any other English teacher in Korea out there. I thought they might be bored because there's not too much physical humor, but they really got a kick out of it. Mom and Dad--the shows biggest fans--would be proud). So, I'm also thankful for a good lesson!

Well, I must be off to teach. I'll post pictures soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb