Seoul Trail #7: Bongsan Aengbongsan Course


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Mapo-gu
February 27th 2016
Published: March 31st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today's trail would take me from Gayang Station to Gupbal Station. The trail is 16.6 kilometres long and it is estimated to take 6 hours and ten minutes. It is rated at a medium level of difficulty. It would take me through the Mapo and Eunpyeonggu districts of Seoul. It is divided into two sections: Gayang Station to Bongsan Entrance, which is 7.3 kilometres and Bongsan Entrance to Gupabal Station, which is 9.3 kilometres. I came out of exit three at Gayang Station. I remembered this bit form last time I was here and knew where the first stamp box was located. I quickly got my stamp and took the ramp up to the bridge. The first part of the trail isn't very nice as you are walking across a very busy bridge, Gayangdae Bridge, and there is a lot of traffic. There are some lights on the bridge to that you have to cross, the first set I didn't have to wait too long at, but the second at the other side of the bridge took a while to change. The bridge was long, and I rushed across it, as it as a bit scary. I was willing it to hurry up and end. I don't like walking next to giant lorries. I headed down from the bridge and walked through a park area next to the Han River. I saw an archery place set up next to the park. It was quiet as it was still pretty early. There were some pretty trees in the park and I also saw a sign warning that there were snakes in the area. Good job it is winter.

The trail then heads away from the river a little and I was walking next to a nice tree lined path. This area was popular with runners and I saw a few running groups speed past me. The trail then turns away from the river and I was walking along the road near to the World Cup Stadium. There was a cute little park next to the World Cup Stadium. There were trails around a small mountain there, if only I had more time. There was a gorgeous little pavilion. I followed the trail through the concrete part of the park. There was a big hiking group about to set off in the direction I was headed so I hung back, waiting for them to leave. The trail continues along a small stream, Bulgwangcheon. I quickly passed the hiking group that I had seen earlier. The stream area was really busy, lots of people enjoying a nice stroll along it in the sun.

The trail then cut up to the main road, which was running parallel to the stream. I crossed the street and headed into an old style villa neigbourhood. It is a steep climb up the hill to reach the second stamp box. There was another guy there getting his stamp, too. Although he was doing the trail in the opposite direction to me. The trail continued onward and upwards. This mountain was quite busy, I saw lots of other hikers. I came to a section in the trail, where there were no obvious trail markings; the signpost didn't have Dulle Gill written on it, and I couldn't see any orange ties on the trees. I decided to take the flat road to the left. Normally the trail takes the flatter course, so I decided to go that way. I really enjoyed this walk as I got some great views of Seoul. However, I didn't see any trail markings, so I cut back up the mountain. There was a rest area, so I stopped there to take a break. While I was there, the big hiking I had passed earlier turned up. They must have taken the wrong turn, too. I decided to head off, I went off in the opposite direction and walked through the woods for a bit. This area was quiet, but I did see some bikers. Eventually I turned around and headed back the way I had came.

I reached the fork in the road. This time I saw the orange ribbon indicating that I should take the stairs. I swear it wasn't there last time I looked. I must be going mad! I headed up the stairs and came to a big arial. I walked around it and continued on the trail. While I was walking, I passed a man who was putting trail ribbons on the trees. I wasn't going mad, the ribbons at the fork had just been added. That made me feel better. I would love his job, walking the trail adding ribbons, checking everything is okay. Shame I am too short to reach the trees to do it. I came to the peak of Bongsan, not that it is really a mountain as it is only 209 metres high. There were some stone chimney things there, they looked like mini ones of that famous one in Gyeongju, the name of which escapes me. There was a nice pavilion to sit in, it would be a nice place to take a lunch break, but the hiking group from earlier had taken it over.

I walked on, the weather was nice and sunny. It was a good day to be out. I walked through the forest. There were a few military installations there, look out posts and bunkers. I wonder if they were still used. I didn't have too much further to walk. I came to a nice little park area, that was really quiet. I was surprised that there weren't any other people around. The third stamp box was just at the bottom of the hill in the small park. It was kind of strange that this park was next to some sort of factory, its big chimney sticking out up to the sky. I knew I must be near to the subway station, but it felt like I was in the middle of nowhere. I followed the trail and came out on to a road. This area looks quite new and there seemed to be a lot of construction going on. There were also lots of new buildings. I followed the road round to the subway station, Gupabal station. I reached there around two o'clock. So the trail took me about five hours.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SeoulSeoul
Seoul

From My Detour
SeoulSeoul
Seoul

From My Detour


Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 23; qc: 115; dbt: 0.2162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb