Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Jongno-gu
February 7th 2014
Published: February 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

What a difference 5 hours makes! We left Yangon at midnight and arrived in Seoul 5 hours later ...and nearly froze our buns!!From +30 to 0 is a huge shift ...and don't laugh at us wimps ,our bodies weren't ready for it and in spite of some forethought I didn't have the clothes layers readily available in my backpack .I had also developed a cold in Yangon . Oh well , I managed .

Suzanne and I got lucky and had one more adventure before we parted ways. Incheon Airport and Seoul city together offer free tours for people who are in transit and would otherwise be sitting at the airport for hours . With Suzanne's boarding pass for Montreal we were able to go on a 5 hour tour of Central Seoul hitting the high points . Gyeongbokgung ( the Palace of Shining Happiness ) ,Jogyesa (Korea's primary Temple ), Insadong Sreet (the "Korean" area of the city ) and a lunch at a Korean tea room . It was a good introduction for me and glimpse for Suzanne .

On the return to the airport we parted ways as we have done before ... in Vietnam and in Alaska . I shall miss her .

I was able to find out how to get to my hotel and it was surprisingly easy . The airport limosine (actually a bus but the driver WAS wearing white gloves ) stopped within sight of the Noble Hotel where I am staying . A pleasant place with heated floors and a toilet that has FEATURES including washing and drying!!!Amazing!It also has a computer IN MY ROOM and a TV with 4 English channels .Travelling alone , these are really nice items . I was so cold and tired when I arrived I spent my time laying about and checking various websites including my blog. Thank you for the messages folks ... I look forward to them !

I slept 10 hours !Given the temp this morning I didn't get moving until 10:30 .I decided my first excursion would be to figure out the subway system and get myself to Dongdaemun , the shopping area to buy a warm coat . Right ,like I need another coat ... actually I NEED a warm coat to be able to spend time outdoors which is where I will be spending time the next few days . I was able to find a puffy ( like fiber filled ) bright blue jacket that will serve well here and at home . Not fashionable but functional .

The area I was in was quite interesting . Seoul is an amazing mixture of old and new . It is definately a modern city with thousands of highrise apartments that house the 10 Million people that live here but , behind the main streets there are older neighbourhoods of narrow little streets and alleys that are full of small shops , restaurants , business ,and hotels/guest houses . I wandered for hours and I enjoyed what I saw . I also surrendered to the lure of Colonel Sanders and had KFC chicken for supper .Man it was good ... I am getting tired of Asian food . Tomorrow night I may eat at a restaurant Suzanne saw listed in my guide book and I found today , Samarkand ... Uzbek food in an area called Russia Town .

Enough I am rambling .

Sleep well Suzanne and enjoy your cereal and yogurt in the morning .

Advertisement



7th February 2014

Seoul food? KFC? Probably..a little comfort from cold, tired and saying goodbye to a good companion. It was a lifetime ago when I spent a few days in Seoul but my fondest thoughts were for the people..trying to help us find our way on that subway you are going to...several of them all pointing in different! Directions with not a word of language in common...you will like it there I hope once you look past the smog and buildings...
7th February 2014

Sorry to hear you are so cold.
Not fun. Hopefully your new jacket will keep you warm enough to enjoy the sites you encounter while you are there. 10,000,000 people?! Wow! That is dense population. Hard to imagine. Glad you enjoyed the KFC. We get those kind of cravings after a few months here as well. Home food! Nothing like it. You will enjoy your own cooking when you get back as well. Have fun. Hope the cold is on the run soon. Don't need to be in bed during your trip. love,
7th February 2014

Longueuil
Good for you, warming up and having PFK. One step closer to home but still I can't say Seoul is occidental. I had a good trip but ever so long....and so happy to see Louise and Ginette. I am sitting in my dining room with my bowl of latte, I had my yoghurt and cereal, my cat sleeping at my side. Home sweet home. I have an appointment for those roots of mine, I need a city look. Have fun. Suzanne.
7th February 2014

Dry cold air
I hope you get acclimated a little bit before coming home. We are in a cold freezer here that doesn't want to budge for at least several more days. My skin feels tight and dry after only a week near the warm Jaltemba Bay! And did I mention I'm back at work? Oh well, save up for another adventure. Enjoy the amenities in Korea. (And I like Mary Anne's comment: "Seoul food? KFC?" Cute!)
7th February 2014

Still cold here, too
Eventhough the groundhog didn't see his shadow in Regina ... I'm sure we will still have 6 weeks of winter. What else is new? The CVAF "Taste of Cathedral" was a good time. (My first, I think). Lots of folk, food, and fun was had by all. Visited with a couple of women I hadn't seen for a while. Partied with Shirley & Randy, Colleen, Abby & Jane. Guess you'll find out later how much money they made. Aby successfully bid on a mystery box which ended up being a shoe box full of jewellery left over from the volunteer party. WOW was she excited. This Sat. is her birthday party. I think you were there last year. Visited up with Jayne & Dawna Ross during the Superbowl, and hear all about the Mandela experience as Dawna and John were there during his passing. Good stories. Gotta go. Hugs. Stay warm and well.
8th February 2014

Aaahhh!
Another coat?! You'll need to build another closet.

Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0936s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb