Seoul 2014


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Jongno-gu » Insadong
May 9th 2014
Published: August 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

GyeongbokgungGyeongbokgungGyeongbokgung

1395 AD . The paint used is all of natural dyes and will last @100 years...with touch ups every 40 years or so .
This will be the last one!!! Are you bored yet ? Do you want to be included on my next travels? Do let me know .

I am so glad I decided to stay in Seoul for a 6 day layover on my way home .What a great city . Walkable , interesting , varied , helpful people and good food to eat . My hotel was comfortable . Small room , heated floors , TV AND a computer and the most amazing shower and toilet. Enjoy the photos.



ps .Somehow I never got around to finnishing this and I need to to keep my blog travels updated . besides I do want to show you what I saw in Seoul . As I had said it was cold there ,


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Craftmanship and detail are considered the finest of Buddist design
InteriorInterior
Interior

The "King" and his court lived here until 1919


Loved it !


The changing of the guard. I am not sure how often this is done ... maybe every hour .
LunchLunch
Lunch

Real Korean food ... Bulgogi
ManduMandu
Mandu

Excellent ! Korean version of Dumplings.
Amazing  buildingsAmazing  buildings
Amazing buildings

Isn't it neat!
DongdaemumDongdaemum
Dongdaemum

First built in 1398 and then restored and rebuilt in 1869 . Huge! Impressive ! Canada is soooo young
National Folk MuseumNational Folk Museum
National Folk Museum

Another wonderful site . I learned a lot about Korean culture inside . Outside there was a street of original shops and houses .It was a bit to cold to enjoy that for long.
National museum of KoreaNational museum of Korea
National museum of Korea

Truly impressive art collections dating back to 5000BC. The building was openned in 2005


Isn't she lovely ... if I remember right it is carved of wood.


It is the year of the horse.
Itaewon district Itaewon district
Itaewon district

Shoppers delight
??
?

This building id still under construction and I do not know what it will be but it is beautiful
Changdeokgung PalaceChangdeokgung Palace
Changdeokgung Palace

In the snow ! Another UN Heritage Site completed in 1412 ...1412!! The remnants of the royal family lived here until their death in the mid 20th century


Agian the details


Amazing


The living area


Indoors second story


31st August 2014

What a surprise.
I wondered when I opened hotmail, if you left & we didn't realize it. But no, you are still here. The pics are lovely. The colors are wonderful. Brings back memories for you I imagine. Just had Doug & Suzanne here for a meal. Sent your lamp & magazines with them. Tks. The Pope Francis articles were very interesting. I am not sure I want to know all the politics involved in the Vatican. Tks for sharing. R&C
31st August 2014

I do want to see them all
And it is just great to see Korea. WOw, they do have winter there. The secret garden looks like a dream scape, or a movie set. Gorgeous.
2nd September 2014

Keep me on the list
Such adventures! Please keep me on the list; I enjoy the blog and photos.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb