Morning hike up Cheonggyesan 청계산


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gangnam
October 22nd 2011
Published: October 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Butterfly leaves 24 secs
>Time to get some exercise. We hiked up the second highest peak of Cheonggyesan mountain. It took a little under two hours to get to the top. I had so much fun that the following morning I went back for another hike, but this time to the highest peak.

I've never visited Korea during this time of year. It's so beautiful. The trails are covered with red, yellow, and orange leaves. They fall down from treetops and land in your lap or cling to your hair. It always makes me smile.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Hike #1 - A snack before our hikeHike #1 - A snack before our hike
Hike #1 - A snack before our hike

Gimbab Ajuma = Seawood rice roll/sushi lady
Hike #1 - Dust your shoes offHike #1 - Dust your shoes off
Hike #1 - Dust your shoes off

This is wild! There's a station at the bottom of the mountain where you can use a pressurized air gun to blast the mud off of your shoes.
Hike #1 - Haemul pajunHike #1 - Haemul pajun
Hike #1 - Haemul pajun

Haemul pajun = Seafood pancake
Hike #1 - A note from my auntHike #1 - A note from my aunt
Hike #1 - A note from my aunt

I crashed when I got home. I found this note outside my door when I woke up at 2 a.m. It reads, "Young Ah! (my Korean name) If you're hungry there's a sandwich. Help yourself to drinks in the fridge." My aunt is a mind reader!
Hike #2 - Burial siteHike #2 - Burial site
Hike #2 - Burial site

The mound marks a burial site. It took everyone by surprise because it was not more than a few steps from the hiking trail. I wonder who it is...
Hike #2 - The last legHike #2 - The last leg
Hike #2 - The last leg

The last part of the hike. We climbed up this wooden staircase for days! I thought we'd never get to the top. My gluteus maximus still hurts-Hah!


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb