seasonschangepeoplechange


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gangnam » Samseong
August 30th 2009
Published: August 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

EllenEllenEllen

Old school darts with Ellen.
It's been almost two years since I came to Korea. And sadly it's time to say goodbye and close this chapter in my life and move on to the next. Friday was my last day at work and I moved out of my apartment this afternoon. So technically I'm homeless and unemployed. But I guess I gotta fill you in on life since I last wrote.

As I mentioned last time, I made the decision to move back home after visiting a few months ago. After I came back to Korea, life was "easy" knowing what was happening and that I actually had somewhat of a plan. But from that point on I focused so much on what I was going to, the different places, the different people and the future. And never really stopped to think what I was leaving behind. Yeah I complain about Korea, work and all the other random things about living here, but I failed to realize the amazing relationships I've made in the two years I've been here. Meeting people and making relationships are hard in a place like Korea. For so many people Korea is a transitional place and people come in not
Busan TripBusan TripBusan Trip

It was so much fun hanging out with you guys in Busan!
really knowing what will happen after the year the signed on for. And because that it makes people put up this guard making it hard to connect to people aside from a superficial level. But every now and then you get lucky and meet people that change your life. I was lucky enough to find a few of them here in Korea. So thinking about leaving them is really hard to do. And I often cry when I think about it. But I know that it is the best for me right now.

It's starting to get cooler outside and there is a definite change in the seasons. In a drunk state I started to talk to my friends about the different changes that comes with the seasons, those changes being within us. New season, new chapter in our lives.

I realized that since coming to Korea, I haven't left the country other than the trip home. I figured if I was on this side of the globe I might as well travel. I had the idea, but wasn't sure how I was going to make it happen. Was it going to be just another idea I had
Amanda's visitAmanda's visitAmanda's visit

It was so awesome having friends come visit!
or would I actually make it happen? One day at work, I looked for plane tickets and found some cheap flights to India and bought the tickets before even applying for my visa. The next day, I applied and bought my tickets to Thailand. No plans, no reservations. Just an open mind and eagerness to learn about the world. And of course my Lonely Planet books. I get different reactions from different people when I tell them what I'm doing, some look at me like I'm crazy, some look at me like I'm brave. I have no idea what I'm getting myself into. But I guarantee you that the next few blogs should be interesting.

Never take for granted those you see everyday and appreciate the times you get to spend with those you can't see everyday. Go with your heart and never let your pride get in the way of you regretting something in the future. I hope everyone is doing well. I miss you all and hope to see you soon!

I leave Friday, September 4 for India! Keep me in your thoughts.

Peace and Love.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Soojin's BirthdaySoojin's Birthday
Soojin's Birthday

We were all very happy that night.
Banpo ParkBanpo Park
Banpo Park

Good music, good friends, good times.
Camp ReunionCamp Reunion
Camp Reunion

Will miss you girls.
Camp ReunionCamp Reunion
Camp Reunion

I'm gonna miss my oppas!
Me and my roomie!Me and my roomie!
Me and my roomie!

Such an amazing roomie and more importantly person. I was blessed to have you in my life!


2nd September 2009

the adventure continues!
that's a phrase my friends and I use when we travel, "the adventure continues!" and it sounds like that's more than applicable for you right now. I'm so excited for your new adventures, can't wait to hear all about them, remember to practice your bollywood dance moves before India! :) -kj

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb