I did a zen!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do
March 30th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

near GwangJu


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
DSC01361DSC01361DSC01361

A japanese apricot flowers in day time.
On last weekend, I went to Buddhism temple, Backyangsa in Jeonnam-do to do a zen with other zen learners. I set off my zen travel at my house in Dae-gu on 10:00 last Saturday morning. I drove my car for Backyangsa. I took about 3hours and 30minutes to arrive Backyangsa by inter highway between Dae-gu and Gwangju. we gathered altogether in the zen house in this temple for us on 15:00. all of this zen learning are nine members. we stayed one night and two days in this temple. In staying here, we did as the monk in this temple did. but most of all. we concentrated on a zen with our master monk(female monk). we did a zen 4 hours including done two hour zen with our master monk in last Saturday. we got up next early morning, exactly, dawn, 03:00 am. and we worshiped with monks in this temple before the image of Buddha and after this ceremony, we did a zen 2 hours from 04:00 to 06:00 Sunday morning. after this zen and a breakfast, we have a tea ceremony with our master monk. and we talked about " a Buddhism in our life". I asked my master monk like this. "we can't meet a Buddha in a real life. But about 3,000 years ago, the Indian people in that times could met the Buddha in their real life as a Tibetan can meet their spiritual leader, Dal lai Lama. Who is happier? We, now, without a Buddha or Them, past, with the Buddha?
my master monk said to me "Our Buddha is all around of us. sometimes be like wind, sometimes like rain, sometimes like tree leaves, sometimes like flowers and sometimes like good neighbor. only we can't make sense of these." although it was hard to accept this words perfectly in my mind. I could somewhat understood her words. we talked altogether about 1 hour.
after this conversation, I packed my luggage and said hello to my master monk and other zen learners. see you again next 4th Sat. next month, April. I refreshed my mind in this beautiful temple. I returned to my house in Dae-gu with safety. I felt some sleepy in my driving way to Dae-gu on highway.

P.S. Our master monk(Korean) went to abroad, America to study Biology in the early 80's.
she quitted her studying. she became monk. she was extraordinary case to be a monk in America.
I hope she will be our good master monk of this zen gathering in this temple. my buddhism name is 古佛. It means "an old Buddha". 6 years ago, this name was given for me by a prime master monk of this temple. I think the essence of Buddhism is "a reverence for life".
It is really spring. at this temple, I could smell of a japanese apricot tree's flowers anterior to cherry blossoms. I can catch a smell of this flowers one hundred meter away. It was so beautiful and very curious.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

DSC01368DSC01368
DSC01368

this tree is 350 years old over and is the national nature treasure #486 in South Korea. the hieght is 5.3M, stem around is 1.47M and tree around are 6.3M(from east to west) and 5.7M(from North to South).
DSC01369DSC01369
DSC01369

In day time.
DSC01376DSC01376
DSC01376

the Main building and Mountain Backam(means "white rock" in English).
DSC01377DSC01377
DSC01377

Mt. Backam.
DSC01379DSC01379
DSC01379

the zen house in this temple that we did a zen.
DSC01380DSC01380
DSC01380

the tree #1 in the early morning.
DSC01381DSC01381
DSC01381

the tree #2 in the early morning.
DSC01382DSC01382
DSC01382

I shot these flowers in the early morning by my digital camera.


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb