Back in the Swing


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do » Yeosu
March 12th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In the motel with MelindaIn the motel with MelindaIn the motel with Melinda

A round bed with a square sheet... intriguing... Hwasun, South Korea.
And so, another semester begins. Spring is gradually coming to Yeosu. Well, I use the word "gradually" in quite a liberal way-- it's actually pretty cold outside right now, but the trees are just beginning to bud and, well, two weeks ago it was warm. Unfortunately, a cold snap hit again, and it's currently back to winter weather.

Things are going well at school. There is a new foreign teacher here, and it's been great showing her around and helping her out. It's also been good to have someone to regularly speak English with. To top it all off, it's also lowered the number of classes I teach this semester to 13! So, I have 13 classes a week-- 9 classes of third-year students, and 4 classes of second-year students. I'm really excited to be teaching my third-year students again. I thought I wasn't going to teach them anymore (and instead would have first-years), but that's not the case! I'm teaching them mostly listening, though, so they can improve their scores on the dreaded KSAT (Korean SAT), which is possibly the largest factor in their college admissions. It's nice to be helping them on something they can so directly apply to their Korean education.

This weekend, I went to Hwasun to visit my friend, Melinda (fellow Fulbrighter). Hwasun is just outside of Gwangju, which is about 2 hours from where I am. It was really great to see her again. And, it snowed! Nothing stuck, I don't think, but huge globs of snow came tumbling from the sky. It was actually rather pretty, as I hadn't seen snow in some time (there were only a few flurries while I was in Seoul).

Now, I'm busy putting together lessons, preparing for the listening practice tests I give my third-year students, and attempting to put together an "English Newsletter" for the high school (where students can write stuff in English, and I'll put it together, edit, and publish it). I really hope the newsletter thing works out. I'm trying to get my students to write more this semester!

Well, it's a short update, but not much else new is going on! I'll fill you in as the time comes!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb