My First Foreign Visitor


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do » Yeosu
November 5th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Gyeongbokgung PalaceGyeongbokgung PalaceGyeongbokgung Palace

Seoul, South Korea
So, my Dutch friend Chris visited me from Oct. 27-Nov. 5, and, boy, did we have a good time! First, I went to Seoul to meet him (he arrived on a weekend, and so I was able to take a bus up there after school on Friday), where he recovered his jetlag, went with me to sightsee, and ate his first Korean food.

In Seoul, we did many things. I hadn't had the chance to really sightsee there before, because the only time I'd been in Seoul was the two days or so that I first met my school officials and said goodbye to my Fulbright friends (oh, and went to the DMZ!). So, we went to Insa-dong, Sinchon, Seoul Tower, one of the palaces, Kyobo bookstore (a giant bookstore with a huge English section. Too bad I didn't find the huge English section until the next trip to Seoul-- two weeks later), and a few other places. We ate samgyupsal (delicious roast pork-type dish), kimbap, and many other kinds of goodies.

Once we finished in Seoul, we headed back for Yeosu. My host family was kind enough to put Chris up with one of my host father's good friends, so Chris had his own homestay for a week or so. This, of course, was nice for me (and for Chris) because I still had to work all day during the week. It was also nice to have entertainment at night because usually people are too busy to go out and play during the week, but Chris had nothing but time. So we explored downtown some more, went cafe and bar-hopping, and had a good time in general.

The second weekend, we went to Jiri-san to go hiking. It is a beautiful and sprawling national park with some great hiking trails. We visited one of the local temples (as one almost always does when hiking), then wore ourselves to the bone on the hiking trail. It was a tough climb up for me, but still a lot of fun and good exercise. The views were really beautiful. Then, my favorite part was the climb down. We descended (steeply--not really fun for my knees) into a gorgeous valley where the trees still had their leaves. All around me were flashes color--yellows, oranges, and reds telling me that it was really autumn. It was beautiful, and some of the most
Gyeongbokgung PalaceGyeongbokgung PalaceGyeongbokgung Palace

Seoul, South Korea
colorful trees I've seen, set in a peaceful valley, sounds of the stream and a few Korean conversations my only distractions.

The hike took us about 9 hours. So, by the end, we were pretty tired and decided to head back to Yeosu. My legs were sore for days after, but it was a good time. On Sunday, we spent time with my host family (and Chris's), and hung out one last time. In the morning, my hostmom took us to breakfast, and Chris headed off on a bus for Seoul before I headed off to work. It was sad to say goodbye, but great to share this part of my life with another adventuring friend (Chris spent 5 months teaching English in Nepal. Talk about culture shock.). I look forward to future visitors (one, end of November, and hopefully my parents and sister later!) and wish that everyone could come see this wonderful country!

(I'll post pictures soon, I promise! Just been a little slow on the uptake lately...Sorry!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Seoul at nightSeoul at night
Seoul at night

From Namsan Tower
Seoul at nightSeoul at night
Seoul at night

The gleaming neon red cross that symbolizes a church. They're all over in Korea.
Seoul at nightSeoul at night
Seoul at night

The gleaming neon red cross that symbolizes a church.
Happy Halloween, Teacher!Happy Halloween, Teacher!
Happy Halloween, Teacher!

My Halloween lesson/costume for class. Attractive, I know.
Hwaeom-saHwaeom-sa
Hwaeom-sa

Temple at the base of Jiri-san--Jiri-san National Park
Hwaeom-saHwaeom-sa
Hwaeom-sa

Temple at the base of Jiri-san--Jiri-san National Park
Jiri-sanJiri-san
Jiri-san

The long but beautiful hike all day at Jiri-san.
Jiri-sanJiri-san
Jiri-san

Chris, my hiking buddy :-)
Jiri-sanJiri-san
Jiri-san

Beautiful mountain hike...
Jiri-sanJiri-san
Jiri-san

Beautiful mountain hike...
Jiri-sanJiri-san
Jiri-san

Beautiful mountain hike...
Jiri-sanJiri-san
Jiri-san

At the peak (Panya-bong)! 1,732 meters, baby!
Jiri-sanJiri-san
Jiri-san

Piagol Valley
Jiri-sanJiri-san
Jiri-san

Piagol Valley... the fall leaves and colors were so gorgeous, but unfortanately, I didn't get shots of the most picturesque views because dusk was falling and we were more concerned about getting out of the park before dark!


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0966s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb