Hey look! It's an entry!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do » Mokpo
January 25th 2009
Published: February 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

A birdA birdA bird

This is a bird I saw when I went hiking around Gatbawi the other day. I ought to look it up on the internet and see what kind it is.
Hey everybody!

It's been awhile since I've put up a travel blog.
A few of my Mokpo friends went to China with a tour group during the lunar new year. I'm settling with seeing the great wall vicariously until I get a chance to go out there to see it for myself.
I stayed home during the lunar new year break. I want to start saving up money for my next vacation so I can do something spectacular like that.
It was snowing on and off last weekend. It's cold, well compared to Washington State, but it's been beautiful outside.

Not too much exciting or out of the ordinary has happened with me. That's why I hadn't thought to update in awhile. I know folks back home want to know I'm doing alright even if I don't have stories of adventuring and seeing sights and seizing the day.
During the break I was able to adjust my laptop's settings so some of the computer games I brought with me I can now play. Which is cool for week nights when nothing's happening, but I've definitely made an effort to be more social and outgoing than I was back home
another shot from the walking bridgeanother shot from the walking bridgeanother shot from the walking bridge

There's this bridge over the road I've taken a bunch of photos from. I'm going to try and catch the sunset on Gatbawi (that's the mountain in the foreground) with the moon and Venus right above it.
so I haven't played any video games very much. It's great to have a clean slate and reinvent yourself.
Last night (Saturday night for me) I had a night on the town. I hung out with some people from around here I hadn't met and we had some great food, went to the bars and I wound up being at the Noraebang with them until 5am. Carpe Diem my friends.

My friends and coteachers are leaving soon and it's been great having friends from home to stay with and teach with and help me transition to Korea. Everyone else that I've talked to typically had to find their own way here from Incheon airport and didn't start out with any kind of resources or social networks like I did. I hope whoever work finds to be the new teachers are as great as they have been. I look forward to taking on the role of showing them around town and introducing them to people. I've been off and on a suscriber of the idea of leaving a place better than how it was when I got there. So it'll be cool to get a chance to practice what I preach.

Until next time, take care.

Advertisement



4th February 2009

Bird
Hey its a Magpie!! have thoes all over Eastern washington and Idaho. They are in the crow and raven family. Smart birds.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb