First week down, 52 more to go!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do » Mokpo
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me around Mt. YudalsanMe around Mt. YudalsanMe around Mt. Yudalsan

So I cheated, there's two ways up the mountain; these stairs or this long path. My new friends wanted to go the stairs so this is where we started from.
Well, now we're onto week 2 of me being in Korea.
Last weekend I climbed Mt Yudalsan, went to norae bang (korean karaoke) and met a ton of other foreigners to hang out with.
Throughout the week I'll probably never see any of them. I dunno, maybe. I didn't see a whole lot of western faces all last week until Friday night came a long and suddenly my area's chock full of 'em. That was actually the first culture shock I think from coming here, seeing a big group of westerners aside from my roomates. Now that I'm getting somewhat settled in, I'm starting to buy food instead of going out. Generally I don't spend more than 8,000 won a day on food or even water, but it's time to hunker down and hold onto my cash unless I actually need something. I found it to be easier on my brain I think of 8,000 won as $8 since most prices for things start at the thousands even if 1,000 won is not $1 USD (a bit less right now.)
My roomates are spending our New Year's break in Beijing, China and if I had the cash I'd go too. That's
Approaching sunsetApproaching sunsetApproaching sunset

From when I climbed Mt. Yudalsan.
alright, I'll get another opportunity. I did just get here as well. I'm debating where to go for New Years myself. Because while a trip out of the country is out of the question, somewhere around SK is within my means. Maybe Seoul or Busan. There's a large amount of foreigners who might be sticking around Mokpo and we might do something around here, which I might stick around for and just save my cash. After all, I've still got to send some money home soon. 😞
I think I've finally figured out my teaching approach. I know I'll keep saying this the longer I'm at it, but I'm definitely better at teaching than my first day.
Until next time, Take care.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb