Adios Andrew!


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollabuk-do » Kunsan
August 29th 2010
Saved: February 12th 2022
Edit Blog Post

This past week was the end of Andrew's contract. He will be living and working in Jeonju next year to be closer to the gf and also study at a university there. He was here to pick me up from the bus terminal in November and he's been there for me ever since. I'll miss you buddy! It won't be the same having the apartment next door empty, who am I going to stroll over and shoot the shit with? Well, I will see him again before I leave, Jeonju is only about 35 minutes north of here.

I keep getting into issues at work. I wish it weren't the case but work can't always just be simple and straightforward. I've had to deal with quite a few road bumps this year and I'd like to think I've overcome them fairly well and will continue to do so. This one could be big but I can't do anything now but wait and see what happens.

To celebrate Andrew leaving we were planning to have a rooftop barbecue but the weather yesterday afternoon was just too volatile and we weren't sure if or when it would rain again so it got called off. We instead met for drinks and chicken and general tomfoolery on bar street. I had a lot of fun with an even mix of Koreans and foreigners. The turnout wasn't what I expected...a lot of people who would've been at the barbecue didn't show up for the alternate sendoff. Everybody has their own plans they gotta stick to I suppose.

This is my last blog of August. It was a little more temperate this month than the last two but still nothing to brag about. I won't mind enduring the freezing, snowy winter this year because I'll know there's an entirely bearable summer around the corner where I won't work up a sweat walking three minutes to the bus stop. But in America when are you without air-conditioning for such a span anyways?

If the weather continues to improve in September I will vow to exercise as much as humanly possible. I want to be as close to my fighting weight as I can for my return stateside. I just don't aim to die of heatstroke in the process.

I have one month left and I have tried to book most of my weekends doing something to make it count so look for some not-so-blah blogs in the coming month including my excursion to Thailand in week three.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb