Jeju Island


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a day of drinking soju bloody mary's, I headed to Jeju Island to enjoy my long weekend. I had heard some interesting things about the ferry trip over, so I was prepared for the worst. It was a pleasant surprise to walk onto the Pink Ferry and take my seat on a very modern boat. Unfortunately, the captain must have taken lessons from a taxi cab driver. We speeded through rough waters which created a rollercoaster effect. Although I found it enjoyable, everyone else in the group was very sea sick. We got to the island in time to see the sunset and eat some bbq. I spent the first night hanging with some friends on the beach and meeting new ones.

I didn't know what was on the agenda for my trip, so I was excited about a hike up Mt. Halla because I had heard about the waterfalls. The island was extremely humid and hot this weekend. When the taxi driver started arguing about where we should go and be picked up, a group of us decided to ditch the hiking idea and head for the beach instead. I didn't regret the decision for a second all day. The water was gorgeous and very clear. I bought a hat, rented a tube and enjoyed the peaceful water all day. I even sang "Margaritaville" to myself a few times. As the afternoon was closing, we grabbed some makoli, korean rice wine, and enjoyed paradise before the tide went out. It was a relaxing and rewarding day. Once we got back to the hostel, we grilled hot dogs and enjoyed an "all-American" dinner. A friend and I headed back to the beach to enjoy the waves crashing against the rocks. A perfect day!

In the morning, I headed to the temple housed on the most mysterious mountain. Fog covered the mountain all weekend which made the giant gold Buddha really stand out. I'm glad I disregarded the humidity and headache because it was a beautiful shrine. After meditating for an hour, we headed down for breakfast. Bibimbop was more delicious than usual because of the great views. After our morning meditation, we headed to the beach again. Although the beach and water were not nearly as beautiful, Jungmun Beach was a great time. The waves were wild! I couldn't even make it past the first wave to get into the water for the first couple of hours. Once getting past, it was my second rollercoaster ride on the trip. It was an adrenaline rush to see a wave looming above you and wonder if it was going to take you under or push you back to the beach. I was glad to keep my bathing suit bottoms on for a majority of the time. When walking back up to the top of the cliff, I could still hear people screaming with excitement over the crazy waves. My friend and I had to make a decision-stay in and try to sleep before catching the ferry out or going into town with the group to party. Of course, we went with the party and one hour sleep option. We enjoyed everyones company, played darts, went to a karoke room and watched a friend eat a bite of discarded corn on the cob off the street corner. We headed to bed for an hour before having to catch a taxi to the ferry.

I was a little concerned about having a different ferry on the way back, but it turned out to be a unique experience. Koreans are very comfortable on the floor. They eat dinner sitting on the floor and many sleep on the floor at home. I enjoyed the gentle ride and nap time on the floor. Watching Korean families trek home from their own vacations was enjoyable. I couldn't help but laugh at myself for feeling the most rested on the trip after my nap on the floor. After a few hours on a bus, I was back home to Jeonju with some great memories of the "Hawaii" of Korea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Mysterious shrineMysterious shrine
Mysterious shrine

It was a great place to meditate
Sleep ferrySleep ferry
Sleep ferry

This was the row I took my nap in :)
Snack timeSnack time
Snack time

More ferry shots


2nd August 2010

Glad you're loving it
You made even the nap on the ferry sound good. :)
12th January 2012

I went to Jeju Island too!!!
I went to the odoelgae rock to enjoy the sea breezend also climbed the mountain and bought chocolate there!!! So damn delicious

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb