Wando-ing to Jeju in the rain


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju » Jeju-si
June 24th 2012
Published: June 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

for a change this is a morning blog, perhaps because I am trying to make a record for brevity and get out of this hotel. However the main thing was that yesterday was sort of a washout so to speak in terms of the weather. I awoke in Wando somewhat surprised to see that the floor under the window was wet -- there had obviously been sufficient rain to penetrate through the screen on the open window. It was indeed fine but still heavy rain as I raced to the ferry terminal (because I was running late). However got on with only few minutes to spare on to the fast boat to Jeju = the Blue Nara which should be pictured here somewhere. That only took just under two hours so I was able to change the weather from rainy in Wando to rainy in Jeju! (not a great improvement then).

Did my tried and true technique of walking away from the ferry terminal and then down a side street because there were obviously hotels there. There was a seven storey one opposite which I could have tried but the name of the Motel Bobos certainly appealed to me anyway.
Blue Narae ferryBlue Narae ferryBlue Narae ferry

docked at Jeju
Not because it was pseudo-Greek but because of Bobo the slightly mad Italian pizza chef in the scurrilous series on SBS called Pizza. Anyway that was the "usual" 40,000 Krw ($35) and was the usual size and "quality" for such an establishment. In other words nothing was lacking. The Samsung screen was suitably large and I later watched - in Spanish but with English subtitles, a documentary on the people who live in Tierra del Fuego. The computer was small but at least I was able to easily connect the LAN cable for Internet directly to my laptop. As I had had minimal breakfast before my -- to the ferry terminal I went out in search of lunch . Although the local black-skinned pig is the local specialty, I went into one place with a number of other people in it. Although they had an English subtitled menu it seems that they would only do the pork dishes if I ordered two (or something). So I gave up and went elsewhere. In this case to have what may have been the "worst" meal in Korea so far -- relatively of course after the previous attempt this at least had wrapped
Jeju black pork stJeju black pork stJeju black pork st

the famous local pig
dish models in the window, even if no prices. I realised after I had sat down that the misspelt sign on the window said Chinae restaurant. Anyway the dish I ordered was a huge shallow bowl of dark brown sauce stuff with plenty of fine egg type noodles in it. So there was plenty of carbohydrate in it if nothing else (other than likely heaps of salt or MSG). This made all my virtually universal Korean meals look clean and pure in taste by comparison.

As it had more or less stopped raining (for the moment) went for a walk along the waterfront. Then dropped into the Ramada hotel to see if they had WiFi in the foyer (they did) and just generally check it out . As a Westerner you will never get queried in such places . It hosts a number of conferences no doubt and it seemed that a diabetes one what is this week's special. Wandered along the waterfront looking at seafood restaurant for dinner but then headed over to the 5 storey E-store as there was a food court on the top floor . Ended up having a rice dish cooked in a stone
Jeju Englishi street signJeju Englishi street signJeju Englishi street sign

yes could do better
bowl which is very common here. On the way out went to this Spanish sportswear shop and bought a heavily discounted action man top and also a bright green new man bag. A bit of telly on the relatively English-speaking channel - there was some great K-pop on this morning on another channel - with their dances and moves the groups are clearly so manufactured. All I want is a decent compilation as I have already mentioned.

As this is written the morning of Monday 25, I plan to go down to the bus terminal now and get a bus to the eastern end of the island for some other adventures. Then I will return here on Tuesday night and likely stay near the bus terminal because it is relatively close to the airport, from which I fly out at 9:45 AM on Wednesday to Busan (that fare for a 50 minute jet flight cost me only $5 more than the fast ferry over -- only about $32).


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Jeju Motel BobosJeju Motel Bobos
Jeju Motel Bobos

not Bobo's ??
Jeju road breakfast funsJeju road breakfast funs
Jeju road breakfast funs

sweet potato and blueberry??


26th June 2012

Bobos, and Chinese.
Hi Mike, Bobos looked pretty flash, and your "worst" meal made the other feasts you have had, look pretty good! Your flight to Busan was cheap! that was good value. The breake blueberry buns looked tasty. Huddo.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb