Bupyeong Underground Markets


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
April 14th 2014
Published: April 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Back to South Korea again. This time I opted for a tamer, rejuvenating trip instead of singing until the early hours at karaoke. Got to hotel early morning again about 8am and headed to bed for a little siesta. Forced myself up about 2ish and hit the gym! Quite proud if myself. Not really a gym fan, don't really get it but I managed about half an hour which isn't too bad. Met the crew for dinner and just went locally to a Thai restaurant called St Augustines. Had my fave - green curry. Was delish. Couple of the crew had watery eyes from the spicyness of the food but the more chillies the better! Headed back and got to bed. Met couple of the girls the next morning and we headed out exploring. One of the girls had never been to Seoul before, and we had thought of going into the city but takes over an hour and couldn't see two feet in front of us anyways due to the fog. So thought it was a good shout to go to Bupyeong to the underground markets. Got the subway there. Thankfully in Seoul, English is widely spoken which makes it not too difficult when venturing around. Really enjoy getting public transport in other countries, feels more adventurous and get to know the culture a bit better. It's so surreal about the area of Incheon where we were as it honestly seems like a ghost town at parts. The subway station literally had no one in it. Quite good though as meant could get a seat. Makes a change from travelling about London on the tube squashed like a sardine! We got off at the station Bupyeong Market, went outside and there was no market or shop to be seen. We went a walk down the round and then came across the market. Turns out you need to get off at 'Bupyeong Station' for the market, not 'Bupyeong Market Station.' Confused.com. The markets had much more life to them. Was a little maze of clothes shops, electronic goods, bags, beauty stalls - all sorts. I love their fashion style here and in Tokyo, could have bought everything. The stuff is all so tiny, would probably only manage one leg through the skirts. We spent most of the time in one of the beauty stalls stocking up on facemasks and Korean beauty products. The stuff out here is so good. I love anything to do with cleansing and making me stay forever youthful! Need it with the hectic and party mad lifestyle that I lead. I also got a big box of ginseng tea which I heard is meant to be amazing for you. Another detox superfood product to add to my vast supply in the kitchen cupboard. After a wander we went to the food court for lunch. Everything was in Korean so just took a brave decision and choose one of the food stalls. I went quite traditional with a soy bean soup dish with rice, and it came with all sorts of accompliments. I'm quite adventurous with my food but these were a bit much. Honestly don't even know what they were. I just stuck to my soup. Was so spicy, actually felt like I was in sauna when eating it. We then had another little wander and headed back to hotel late afternoonish. I then just had a little pamper session with my facemasks. A Korean lady on my crew says she uses them all the time - she is 53 years old and honestly looks about 38! Im going to need another trip to Korea soon to stock up on more!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Boo! Boo!
Boo!

Cleansing extremes to remain youthful!


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb