The Reality is that this is reality....


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
April 27th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello fellow readers,

You may be wondering what the title of this blog means, and I don't really know, but I am digging into something that might be deeper than you are prepared for. I haven't been here in South Korea for that long but I am gathering, as a foreigner teaching english you have two options: 1) Find other foreigners to get drunk with and socialize within a small clique of other english speaking people...or 2) Indulge in the unknown with a new culture and perhaps discover something within yourself.

I lean toward option (2) with a hint of option (1). It is nice to get out, speak english and have a few beers with similar people, but you don't have to go to South Korea for that, I could have stayed in Lindsay. That being said, I consider myself someone who likes to take the road less travelled and I really don't mind if that means being alone. I'm sure one day I'll meet someone who is on that same road.

Here in Korea, it is popular for foreigners to congregate in a place called Itaewon on the weekends to get completely loaded and head back to their apartments for the week and do it all over again the next weekend. Many people don't even leave Seoul for thier complete stay except for the trip to Thailand which every foreigner is expected to take. How boring! Most don't even attempt to learn the language, I find that very odd, but nonetheless, their choice.

I suppose what I am getting at is that I want to be sure that when I am old and I look back on what I've done I never want to say I wish I had of done that.

I apologize for the preaching in this blog but I think it's important, and I hope that for those who read this realize that your life is only over when you're dead, and that's it!

That being said, I did go to Itaewon this weekend on Saturday to check it out and it is cool. There is plenty of shopping and it caters to english speaking people with many of the foods we are accustomed to. It was only a day trip mind you so there was no heavy alcohol consuption. I could never do that trip every weekend though. It takes me roughly 2 hours to get there on the subway and it's a subway trip like you've never experienced in your life. The simplest way to explain it is to imagine that downtown Toronto only had one train and everyone using public transportation had to get on it at once. I literally had to stand the entire time with my face in someone's hair and someone else's crotch hovering around my ass. Not cool! I need to get out of the city and see something worth taking pictures of because that is what I crave.

Anyway, I'll attach some pictures, some of my apartment and some other random shots. I hope, if only for a brief moment, I have inspired some of you to enjoy life a little bit more.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



29th April 2008

wow looks very interesting. sounds like u are finding out about yourself. enjoy the experiences, many people would love or have loved to do things like this in their life. hope all is well

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb