Finding a Routine


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangbuk-do
March 26th 2010
Published: March 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Officially finished my second week of teaching, I'm slowly finding a groove. I still get confused sometimes on what I'm supposed to teach or what homework I'm supposed to check since the Tuesday and Thursday schedules are a bit different than Mon/Wed/Fri.

Some intriguing stories from the last couple weeks:

- I got $35 worth of free stuff from the 1000won store!
There's a Daiso in Jukdo Market downtown where I've been doing a lot of my weekend shopping lately. For those of you who don't know, Daiso is a Japanese chain of dollar stores and I loooove it! They even have them in California and my cousin took me there last November. So, I had a really long list of things I wanted to buy and found a lot of stuff at the Daiso. My basket was really full and I even brought my own shopping bag. The lady at the register rang up all my stuff and it totaled around $35, I gave her the money, and she gave me back the receipt with my all my money back...She said something in Korean, but I didn't understand. My friend, Cindy, said, "Just walk away...." so I did. I still don't know why she let me get all the stuff for free, but it was really nice of her! Maybe I was holding up the line? I have no idea.

- I was called "ahjumma" at the market near my apartment
"Ahjumma" is usually a term for older ladies in Korea, they are a unique group of people really. I think they have a lot of attitude, they are usually married, and a lot of them have perms...
In any case, I was kind of offended because I don't think I look that old, but as my mom says, "You're nearly 30!". My Korean age is actually 29 so yes, I am nearly 30 Mom...

- Random English....
While shopping for stuff at E-Mart, an older Korean man approached me and started talking to me in English. Ok, I haven't had good experience with older dudes here, they tend to be creepy, but I found out later that this guy was a Pastor at a church and he was trying to get me to go to their English mass. Luckily, I got a call and so I could dip out from the conversation...

The interesting part about all this is that when I got home later that night and found the pamphlet that I was given in the market by that person who called me "ahjumma"...it was a pamphlet from that pastor's church!!

Advertisement



31st March 2010

hmmmm....
so... your korean age is 29?? so what's that make MY korean age?? I think i'm afraid to really ask!! (>_<) congrats on the free stuff!!! sweet!!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb