FOR THE WIN!!!


Advertisement
Published: September 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello, All!

I have some wonderful news, some slightly old wonderful news, and general updates for you all.

First and foremost, I have turned down an offer to renew my contract in return for a Harvard course training and certificate. I will in all likelihood be coming home in June of 2010, as scheduled. I can't wait to see you all!

Secondly, I found out today that my application for promotion has been accepted. I am now the Shift leader for 1-9 and the Evening Activities Coordinator. The job entails a lot, so I won't bore you with the details. I'm looking at a lot of overtime before winter VIP starts up, but I have a great support system and am really looking forward to getting to teach in all of the different content areas instead of just in Drama and Music.

There has been a whole bunch of crazy craziness flying around GEV as of late and it's been a little difficult to handle. Everyone is getting very upset with our CFO and the changes being made, so it's almost as if I'm drowning in negativity. It has been a challenge to stay positive and keep looking ahead to the future and what these changes will mean, how they will improve EV, but I think I'm doing a pretty good job right now of looking at the bright side of every situation. I need that. If I can't find anything positive about my job and the changes it is going through, the next 8 months are going to be very long and fraught with stress and sleepless nights. I won't let that happen. My plan is to just stay excited about teaching and try to get other people to see the good that I see. What else would I be here for if not for that, right?

Apart from all of that insanity, I haven't been doing a whole lot. We have not had students literally the entire month. We may or may not have students next month. Work has just been a blur of "professional development" and "content area cross-training" for 3 weeks now and it's a bit tiresome. But, we have to do something, and I'm getting paid for it all, so I really have nothing to complain about. I know that our people are doing what they can with a crappy situation and I'm grateful that we are still getting paid and have the option to either work or take unpaid leave.

I'm SUPER excited about my upcoming trip to Japan. My friend, Mike, and I are leaving Korea on 10/30 and coming back 11/2. We haven't really decided on all that we're going to do, but I know that the Tokyo Motor show will definitely be on the schedule. I'm so excited, I could just poop! Seriously, though - I'm really excited. Tokyo Motor Show, here I come!!!

I'm off work this entire week because of the Korean version of Thanksgiving - Chuseok. I've been lazing about and cleaning, studying my Japanese and Korean, hanging out with some of the girlies, playing guitar, eating too much, and walking around in this gorgeous Fall weather. It's starting to get chilly, though, so I'm going to have to pick up some hoodies or something.

If you have any questions that need answered really quickly or just want to hear my voice (and see my face if my webcam feels like functioning), hit me up on skype. My skype name is msmegmaynard and I'm online pretty much whenever I set foot in the door. I'd love to hear from you!

For those of you wondering about Spencer, he's doing wonderfully and really settling into a solid teaching routine. He loves it and seems really happy. He also just got his license and a motorbike. I'm not happy about that considering the in-depth description he gave me of how insane the drivers are in Vietnam, but I can't do anything to stop him. Yet. 😉

One last thing - I've gotten a few packages this month and they mean the world to me. You know who you are and you are AWESOME! On a related issue, I no longer need anyone to send me Vitamin C or Zinc. I have enough to supply the whole village for a year! Thank you!

That's all I can think of for now, but I'm sure I'm forgetting something. I usually am... sometimes I think my brain is made of Swiss cheese. Regardless, I miss you all and can't wait to hear from you!


ALL my love,
Meg


Advertisement



21st October 2009

Your positivity
Meg--thanks for your attitude! It helps others--including me. On a different issue--I'd help you with the talent show by singing--but then it wouldn't be a talent show. :)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb