round two


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Goyang » Ilsan
March 9th 2011
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am back. Back to Korea that is. I am about to begin my new job, in my new neighborhood, with a new outlook on the experience past and ahead. As most of you know, I took an extended break from the 9-5, although my previous job was not 9-5. I guess what I wanted was a break from Korea and to come home to Portland to see the people I missed while I was away.
I arrived about a month ago in and have been waiting to start my new Job in Ilsan. Ilsan is an area of Korea just north of Seoul, and just south of the DMZ (around 25 miles). I am staying with my girlfriend Michelle at the moment while I await starting my new position and finding a place of my own.
It is somewhat surreal to come back to Korea. It seems like I wasn't gone for that long, and that what were once new friends, became old friends. It was great to see everyone again, and it seemed like the first few weeks were nothing short of running around catching up.
A few friends have taken off to travel the globe for a while and who knows the next time I will see them. That is the strangest part of Korea. You become very close with people, but when we go our separate ways, there is no telling when you see these people again. If people made the commitment to come all the way here, there is a good chance that efforts will be made in the future.
It was great being home while I was, and to see everyone and make my photography book. As for now, I am still taking photographs and hope to have a bigger Korea project done when I complete this year. I have a goal of being here one year and paying off loans and saving for the next step. I'm still not sure what that will be after Korea, but I do have a year to figure somethings out. And although years can go by quickly, it will mean even more to get rolling.
I will try and keep you all update on what's going on with my life over here and the shinagins I get up too. Please feel free to do the same.

Here is my email in case you don't have it. joetursi@gmail.com. As of now, I start my new job on Monday at a new school, but same type of job as before. After-school program at an elementary school. Teaching 1st grade through 6th. Wish me luck.

Advertisement



9th March 2011

good to hear from you
You have been on my mind. I sent Juanita your book so you should have a residual from that coming. All is well here. It was so good seeing you but I'm happy for you to be on your next adventure. Jeannette is still hoping that you'll gain some weight and she can have your suit. Take Care and Happy School year. your aunt L.
10th March 2011

Welcome back...
to asia, buddy. Keep an eye out for a location that we can both fly to cheaply and lets meet up somewhere awesome. I find out tomorrow if I'm sticking around here for another year or not. Hopefully you dig your new neighborhood and peeps! Ben

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb