Day 22 & 23, Gwangju


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gwangju
July 5th 2015
Published: July 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 22

Yesterday I travelled to Gwangju, it's the sixth largest city in South Korea and there lives about 1.5 million people. From Daegu it took about 3 hours by bus and I arrived to U-Square Bus Terminal, which is Gwangju's main terminus. From there I took a bus to Pedro's House hostel. In the hostel I was greeted by the owner Pedro. I was given a welcome drink and got to also browse 3 folders, which were full of information about things to do, see and eat in Gwangju. I was really lucky that I had booked my hostel quite early, because the 2015 Summer Universiade is held in Gwangju while I'm staying here.

After getting my stuff to the room I went to eat dinner to a restaurant called Mudeungjeong. The restaurant is a traditional Korean restaurant where you sit on the floor and eat from a low table. There I ordered Samgyeopsal, which has become my favorite food in Korea.

Day 23

Today I went to see the Juknokwon bamboo forest park. I went there by bus and it took about 30 minutes from the U-Square Bus Terminal. Juknokwon is located in Damyang and it was established in 2003. The park features artificial waterfall, pavilions, walking paths and bamboo trees of course, and it takes about 1 hour to walk around the entire park. Even though today was a hot day it was really cool to walk in the forest, because the temperature in there is 4-7 degrees lower due to the big amount of oxygen.

While walking in the forest I met a chinese man who was there with his mother. The man told me that her mother wanted to take a picture with me as a souvenier from their trip. I think that it was quite funny that she wanted to take a picture with me because I was there also as a tourist. But they were really nice people and I didn't have a reason to say no 😊

After getting back to the hostel it started to rain, so I decided to stay the rest of the evening at the hostel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb