Daegu's National Sports Week and Andong/Hahoe Folkin Folk Village !!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu » Jung-gu
October 24th 2012
Published: October 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 39 (Mon 15thOct)



Today I had planned on going to a national park north east of Daegu for a bit of a hike and to see a few temples around there but due to waking up with an incredibly sore abdomen which is down to the sunmudo martial arts I was doing at the temple stay I’m in way too much discomfort for that.

I was just pottering around the hostel when the girl (Sookie) who works here asked if I fancied going with her to watch the national volleyball finals week. It seems Daegu is hosting the national sports festival this week so there’s a lot of sport going on. As I had no other plans it made sense to go plus it’s a new sport that I’d not seen before.

We got the bus to the university where the finals were being held. We ended up staying for about 2 and a bit hours, catching the end of one game before taking in a full match after that. It actually was quite good and I’m glad I went. It’s not a sport I’m familiar with but was worth watching even if it was the men playing and not women. After this we headed back to the hostel, where I caught up on blog postings, watched a bit of tv and generally relaxed for the evening.



Day 40 (Tues 16th Oct)



Today I made it to the national park I meant to go to yesterday. The national park is called Mt Palgongsan and it has a few let’s call them large peaks in the middle of it. The park is also home to a few temples as well. I got the bus out to the park which must have taken half an hour or so. Got off as per usual when all the middle aged Korean women did as this always signifies a hiking route and then looked at the nearest map to see where I actually wanted to go. I don’t exactly do much research into things, more I turn up and hope there’s a map to guide me, so far it’s worked out ok.

There is a famous temple near the base of the climb called Donghwasa which I first had a look it. Considering I’ve seen a lot of temples I didn’t stay long and sort of by passed it as I think I’m getting a little fed up of temples, they are all pretty similar.

I started to make my way up the climb. It started as a one track road for cars, turned into a dust path and then the inevitable rock climbing stage and lots of stairs. Now I’m getting more and more used to these national parks but they’re still hard work. The climb to the first peak I wanted to go to was 3.4km, of constant and steep gradients. It took around 90 minutes without stopping apart from a quick water break or quick photo of the view. I made it to the top of the first peak I wanted to get to at around 1175m. I sat down, ate a small pack of oreo’s, my new favourite snack for travelling and took in the views 360 degrees around Daegu and its nearest provinces. It was a little hazy when you tried to look long distance but the climb was worth the view.

There were 2 other peaks within 1.1km it said on the map so I figured I might as well take those in, moving westwards and then head down from the far one, via yet another temple. It took around an hour to see the other 2 peaks and some of the final stretches of the climb to these peaks are highly sketchy. Not for anyone without reasonable balance and footing. I somehow managed it in a pair of trainers that are pretty much grip less now, thinking a new pair is needed before any more days hiking.

After the 2 other peaks I worked my way down and this was probably harder than going up. It took nearly the same amount of time, I was one again abseiling down sections where there wasn’t really any path, and there’s no way this path would be in a park back in the UK I would doubt. It was seriously mental, it was that steep if you gathered any speed you’d have no chance of stopping. This does however make it exciting although I did nearly bin it a few times, but my camera was saved from being broken again today. After this hellish descent I got to Buinsa temple, possibly the nicest one I’ve seen yet. When I thought I had temple burnout a nicer one comes my way. It was so peaceful and obviously not as famous as the rest so there was no one there. The buildings, albeit restored we all immaculate and well presented. It’s not been ruined by tourism and rammed with people like all the other temples in the region and I’m not sure why. It’s a smaller temple area and there aren’t too many outbuildings, but its 200 metres from a main road so I thought it might be busier. I was glad it wasn’t though. I headed back to town, for a quick shower and nap before I went out for tea. Film and some internet before heading off to sleep for proper.



Day 41 (Wed 17th Oct)



I had thought of going to another national park today but after yesterday’s 5 hour excursions in Palgongsan I decided against it. There isn’t a load to do here so I figured I’d take in the sports stadium, go and have a look, see if I could get in. I also saw my first drops of rain in 41 days this morning which was strange and enough to keep me indoors for an hour or so this morning before heading out.

Turns out its still Deagu National Sports week so there was a final going on in the Citizen’s stadium, just down the road from my hostel. Everything seems to be free for this sports week so I just walked in and sat down and watched a half of football, the quality of which was very impressive for what I think were university students, better than the professional football I saw in China. After one half of football I left and walked a mere 50 yards to the baseball stadium, also hosting a final. Having never seen baseball before it made sense to give it a go and have a look. The stadium is pretty smart but not that big and I sat right behind the batter. Now I’d heard bad reports about people watching baseball and I sort of see why. It’s not really that exciting, and the standard wasn’t great. In 4 innings I think I saw the ball get to the outfield a whole 4 times, which isn’t a lot, and a home run would never be in the question. It was ok and something new, but I’m not sure I’d bother going again unless it was the professional ranks.

After this I sorted out where I’m going to head to next and got that booked so I move on tomorrow to Andong. Daegu is a unique place though I must add. Whereas we’d have a high street with all sorts of stores in, they actually have streets just for one given item, be it mobile phone street, jewellery street, snack street etc. It really is a strange idea that all the competitors to one another are in a row and on one street, but maybe that’s what makes it different to other places.



Day 42 (Thurs 18th Oct)



After taking in some sports yesterday I thought it only proper to take in the proper stadium in Daegu, which hosted the 2011 World Athletics Championships. I had thought that was where I was going yesterday but on arrival I realised I was at the wrong stadium. It’s pretty straight forward to get to, subway out and about 15 min walk to the front door. It’s a mighty fine stadium and the one where Usain Bolt was disqualified in the 100m final, not that
My Korean Friends !!My Korean Friends !!My Korean Friends !!

Sit on the floor and drink night !!
you’d notice with a 25ft metallic ‘Lightning Bolt’ sculpture in front of the stadium. It seems none of the athletics set up has gone, and there are still the ticket prices on the ticket counter a mere 14 months later. Daegu’s local K-League side play here so the stadium is being used, just none of the old stuff has gone, which is a little odd.

After this I fetched my gear from the hostel and headed for Dongdaegu station to get my train to Andong.

On arrival in Andong I found my new hostel for 2 nights, named the Peter Pan Hostel. It was the only one on hostelworld so had no choice, but it’s ok except all the bedding is pink and so are the towels. Luckily Korean hostels are quietish this time of year so not too many people around to see me all in pink!!


Day 43 (Fri 19th Oct)



My only full day in Andong was to be spent at Hahoe Folk Village, the reason I came to Andong. It’s considered the place to see proper Korean culture and living at its best. When Queen Elizabeth II came to Korea she asked to be taken to the best place for Korean culture and was taken to Hahoe. They use that fact a lot to sell Hahoe to visitors.

Arrived at the village, and took a little boat across a river where there is a high cliff edge, to get a full view of the village before I looked around. I can see why they brought the queen here, it really is a nice and original Korean village.

On returning to ground level I started to walk around and I did so for around 2 hours, taking way too many pictures. Each house is very small in size and has either a Korean style pavilion roof or a thatched roof, all with outside toilets and crop plot normally. The village is also still a working village so people live in nearly all of the houses. It’s a maze of small walkways and roads and that’s the only downside. Some of these ancient and historic houses have brand new cars sat out the front, not many I should add but it does take away a bit from it.

On exiting the village there was a carving store, with a woman outside making a new wood carving and showing off all the ones she’s done. Most are just heads, as Hahoe is famous for masks, a lot have humorous faces etc. There are also some a little ruder leaving nothing to the imagination. I found this hilarious as was taking pictures off all the suspect looking carvings, which I won’t be posting on here. They will make it onto facebook though. After a few minutes composing myself I left and walked towards bus stop.

Having just missed a bus and the next one 90 mins away I went into the Hahoe mask museum, which I thought would be rubbish. It was actually quite good and I spent a good 45 mins walking around looking at various masks from all over the world.

In the evening I was invited by a Korean lad to join him and the rest of the hostel guests for a drink. There was 10 of us in the end, all sat on the floor having a beer and eating snacks. For me I was on crisps and peanuts and they were eating shrimp and mackerel snacks, not my idea of food to go with beer especially at 10pm. It was a good way to end the day although they didn’t really speak much English but I suppose that doesn’t matter so much when beer is involved.


Next – Suwon and Seoul (inc Visit to North Korean border)


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 30


Advertisement



Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.2417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb