And the beat goes on...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu » Chilgok
May 14th 2007
Published: May 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Worst Student EverThe Worst Student EverThe Worst Student Ever

He's just plain nuts!
Here I am two and a half months under my belt and I already feel like a veteran. I've settled and adjusted and now its just scary how normal everything is. I am amazed at how many misconceptions I had drawn when I first got here that I am slowly uncovering. The whole experience so far has been very refreshing. I've started writing again, I picked the guitar back, and I've been taking tons of pictures. It's my own personal rennaissance. Speaking of writing, has anyone gotten their postcards? I've sent out to rounds so far, and I am waiting to find a place that sells them before I can send more. Apparently Koreans don't feel Daegu is picturesk enough to have postcards.

Anyway, still no big travel adventures lately. Been sticking close to home lately. Visited Seoul for a night with my friend Kat. It was a pretty good time, I finally got tacos!! But that was pretty much the highlite of the trip. Other than that one of Kat's friends brought us to a rather seedy hostile - which I liked, but Kat assured us she couldn't stay there. So we made our way to Hyundai, the
Foot Bath CornerFoot Bath CornerFoot Bath Corner

Right in downtown Daegu
local university area and checked out some of the bars. We eventually ended up at a 1980's themed bar - it was trippy to say the least. After the bar, Kat and I just wanted around Seoul until the sunrose and I caught a train back to Daegu. The whole experience was a little surreal. The next day I went to my friend Lindsay's baby's first birthday party. It was a lot of fun, all the foreign teachers got together as well as a bunch of her Church friends and we feasted like kings on everything from Hotdogs to Korean Fried Chicken. Lindsay introduced us to a game called waterballoon volleyball that lasted for about 30 minutes before it just escalated into an all out war. Honestly - I have to admit it was a lot of fun.

Then this past weekend we had an around the world party in Chilgok. The basic concept of the party is that everyone claims a country and sets up their apartment to reflect said country. Each dwelling supplies liquor and or food stereotypical to their respective regions. Represented that night was the USA, Mexico, Spain, Russia, Greece were all well represented. There
Seafood PastrySeafood PastrySeafood Pastry

Gives a new meaning to Tastey Cake - These seafood filled pastries can be found on the streets of downtown Daegu
were hamburgers, beers, tequila, wine and orange juice and more. It was a rather crazy time -- check the pictures for details :-) After the party, I went downtown and met up with Kat at Commune bar and partied it up a bit ended up at home pretty early - around 5am.

Then yesterday (Sunday) I was lucky enough to finally run into my friend Jesse who I met in Japan. She showed me all around downtown Daegu. I saw the cultural center, the medicine market, the street markets, the subway, and we even found this bar called Jaru that a great atmosphere and balcony dining. Both her and her boyfriend are good people, I am going to make a point to try and hang out with them again soon.

Well that's about it for now. I'll keep everyone posted on any news. Oh please let me know if you get a postcard - I am trying to figure out how long it takes for mail to get overseas. Anyway enjoy the pictures! Wishing you all the best!

Much love,

Matt



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Downtown WindmillDowntown Windmill
Downtown Windmill

Right out of a starbucks -- go figure?! Got to love Korea!
Mina TeacherMina Teacher
Mina Teacher

One of the best Co-teachers a Foreign Teacher could ever hope for!


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb