going from Seoul to Cheosan & Independence Hall of Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Chungcheongnam-do » Cheonan
June 13th 2012
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Seoul station protestSeoul station protestSeoul station protest

street vendors apparently making a noise
I started the last post on the train to Cheosan. Getting to Cheosan could have been on two ways, all actually three ways, if I wanted to spend 2 1/2 hours on the subway/metro going all the way to about the seventh last stop of the incredibly long line 1. Instead it took me an even hour or so on the aforementioned Saemaeul express train. I could also have gone by bus but as there are about four bus stations in Seoul from which buses for various cities leave, I decided it was easier to change one subway station and go to Seoul Central Station. I decided to buy a ticket from the machine, which you can at least persuade to work in English . I discovered then that I could get the really fast KTX train for about 30 minutes to another city, wait there 30 minutes, then come back 10 minutes on another train . The idea of going directly on a somewhat "slower " train leaving in 90mins obviously appealed more.

With the wait I went downstairs to see the details for the airport train which I will get when I go to leave. They have an in-town type check in, as they do in Hong Kong, but although I am on an Asiana plane, it is on a Qantas ticket so cannot check in down there apparently. As there was also a traditional style Korean restaurant down there I decided I might as well have a late lunch of rice porridge (congee?) with alleged abalone (some bits very chewy but I have never eaten it before).

Arriving in Cheonan soon realised that outside Seoul English speakers somewhat drop off. Managed to communicate what direction hotels might be in and was pointed to the west side of the station. So I ended up at what is apparently a "theme" hotel as you will see from the photo. I expect to be staying in a lot of them and the standard price is around 35-40,000Krw ($30-35Au roughly). My room appeared to lack any themes so maybe I had to arrive with a girlie in tow or know how to ask for one. Nevertheless it had the standard big TV screen and own computer (but no wifi).

In search of dinner up and down the street and found what seemed a good BBQ place. The locals must think so as well as people kept coming in in the 90 minutes or so that I was there. The presence of the rather large yellow Harley of the owner also indicated that it was doing well! As he spoke no Korean I simply pointed at some 7,000Krw prices on the wall almost at random, wondering what the hell I would actually get. Fortunately it was marinated beef which was cooked over the charcoal brazier set down in the middle of the table. The waitress kept charge of the cooking and chopped the cooked meat into pieces with scissors. You then wrap meat in lettuce leaves with the sideplates of kimchi etc. The place was really well run and they all seemed to work very well as a team.

The only real reason to go to Cheosan (apart from of course having a very good bulgogi style meal) was to go to the Independence Hall of Korea,, which unfortunately is about 14 kms out of town. I had noticed the information office on the other side of the station and she was able to produce a brochure in the English, although she did not speak it. This indicated that bus 400 went there (the Lonely Planet had indicated other numbers). I had clocked the bus stop location the previous night so was lucky that a 400 bus already full of pensioners came along shortly. I had shown the bus driver the name of the hall in Korean (on my tablet, so modern!). It happened that a tall young Korean guy from Seoul more or less standing next to me was going there as well, as he asked me where I was going.

This meant that I had someone to tell me when to get off the bus (although the tall spires are fairly distinctive to spot) but more importantly to ask the bus driver in Korean whether the bus returning actually went past the railway station. His English name was Jay (you can see why he would not want to use Kim as every second person in Korea is called that). He had just come out of the compulsory two years in the Army. Anyway we walked around the 6 halls of the museum which are mostly very earnestly patriotic about the independence movements mostly against the Japanese during the 20th century. In that respect it is not
Cheosan BBQCheosan BBQCheosan BBQ

note the distinctive fan extraction
that dissimilar to the Nanjing Occupation Museum. Then he kindly got me onto the right bus back into the city. Back to the hotel to get my bag than a taxi in rush hour traffic to the bus station to get the bus to Gongju, next stop.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Cheosan local talentCheosan local talent
Cheosan local talent

waiting for you!
Independence Hall Korean flagsIndependence Hall Korean flags
Independence Hall Korean flags

and 2 famous patriots
Independence Hall statueIndependence Hall statue
Independence Hall statue

somewhat monolithic in size!


15th June 2012

Bikes and more.
Hi Mike, Now the shot of the Harley comes together with the BBQ owner, very neat. BBQ food sounded very good, from pointing! Boy some great shots of the Independence Hall. they were of a serious size there, good one with Jay. "Mr Natty" at Seoul station shot had me thinking of a scene in a James Bond film somewhere, Christopher Lee? Huddo.
3rd July 2012
Independence Hall - Jay poses

finally i found you!
what a long trip! i just finished my trip toward all around korea. did you get back to australia?
5th July 2012
Independence Hall - Jay poses

back in Australia-land indeed
Hi Jay - glad you found it (the blog). Hope you enjoyed your trip ard Korea as much as I did. I arrived back only yesterday 4 July - and believe me it is rather cold here! 15 degrees max today (but sunny) makes a change from 30 in Seoul and Gyeongju that is for sure. Last winter was quite warm but I am told that winter here is colder this year. I look forward to coming back to Korea and seeing all the bits I missed - and of course the lovely food. Even though I think I lost 3kg in weight I think this is mainly the travel. All the best post-military and hope you find all that you are looking for. I will likely post one final wrap-up blog post on Korea so keep reading!
6th July 2012
Independence Hall - Jay poses

i'm so curious about the fact that australia has that cold winter. when i was in nz 10 years ago, it just rained warmly during the whole winter! whatever, glad that you had a great and hard travel that made u lose ur weight! haha btw there are the exact same places where i've been during this trip too such as jeonju hanok village and busan. well i didn't like the village, but i loved that awesome bean sprout soup with rice, which we call it 'kongnamul gukbap'! i still miss the food that i had during the trip. lol and if u have a facebook acount, add me 'jeong woo kim', with a handsome profile picture taken in ktx :D if you don't, i will just keep visiting this blog .
9th July 2012
Independence Hall - Jay poses

doing the Facebook thing?
Jay, I do not really "do" Facebook - although I have a listing there, it is really only to see very occasionally the stuff other people I know put on there. There are about 8 Michael Hudsons on there - but my snap there is the same anonymous @ 5 year old as on this blog. The situation is the same for multiple "jeong woo kim" in Korea - sorry I did not find which one is you. However due to privacy concerns I am over Facebook timelines and stuff so would rather you sent me a private email to: minkvill@tpg.com.au happy to talk via there.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb