India, Cocktail & Marina Bay


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
September 14th 2013
Published: October 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I wake up in a happy place. I am liking being in Singapore so I extended my stay for another night. Moving on every 2 or 3 days like I had been had taken its toll for a while so Singapore was my comfortable safety zone.

This morning I met Hayley and Dani. A Canadian and an Irish. They had been teaching in South Korea and decided to carry on their travelling for a while. Their plan for the day was to head to Raffles Hotel for a famous Singapore Sling cocktail. This was also on my list of things to do today.

But firstly I went to check out Little India to check out some of the temples and generally see the hustle and bustle of life there. I also needed to purchase a new USB stick due to lack of memory for my photos again. I ate chicken biryani in the local food hall then walked around the town taking in the culture and colours.

My next stop was Raffles Hotel for the famous Singapore Sling. So I got the MRT to City Hall. A nice English man pointed me in the direction of the hotel. He was working in Singapore, something to do with the Grand Prix shop (we sat outside of it).

Finally finding 'The Long Bar', I prop myself at the bar and order my drink. There were no free tables or chairs so a waitress asks for me to sit on a bar stool at the bar. I ask the Chinese man sat next to me if he could take a photo for me (you have to, right?). Observation - boxes of monkey nuts on the bar and table that you could help yourself to and where other than to throw the shells, but on the floor. The floor under the bar and tables was covered. Quite amusing I thought.

A guy from Australia joined me for 10 minutes or so, but it was just a quick one for him before leaving for the airport. Me - I made my way to the next destination of the day, Marina Bay Sands.

I was glad my first visit here was at night. All the pretty lights from the buildings reflecting on the Marina. Although rather busy, everyone keeps themselves to themselves here. No bother from anyone. Sometimes I never even got a smile back.

8pm was the Light and Water show 'Wonder Full', so I sat down in the audience area ready. It was projections of film onto fountains of water. Fire and bubbles also occurred in the performance. A very enjoyable 15 minutes.

I let my feet carry me aimlessly, going over the twinkling Helix Bridge (in which I stopped to catch a glimpse of some Asian film making), next to Singapore Wheel (where I contemplated going up but then decided budget wise it was nice to just look at) and then home to the hostel where I stopped off for food at my local food hall. A good busy day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb