Garden City Singapore Part 1 (Japanese & Chinese Gardens)


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
July 30th 2011
Published: March 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Singapore is indisputably a "Garden City" or another way to say it is a "City in a Garden".

Twice I've been to the Japanese and Chinese gardens this week. I was trying to work on my writing and the flat is not a conducive place to work on my poetry. As I'm tackling Haiku today I'm dying to have some Japanese inspiration. Plus, haikus are mostly about nature and imagery. Facebook and the bed are definitely not the best place to see nature and life unfold. Despite my lazy mode, I am forced to go out and see the world .

It is relatively easy to go to Chinese Garden as it is one of the stops on the green line. Another nice thing is you do not have to pay anything, except if you wish to go inside the Turtle and Tortoise Museum which we didn't. Please also make sure you bring an umbrella and lots of liquids.

I am more partial towards the Japanese landscape despite it being simplier one. I prefer the simplicity and order. It is much easier to work on the chaos of my mind. I was lost in my own thoughts as I surveyed the scene. Nature remind us a lot of the lessons in life that we've been taught over and over. Just take the example of the stones by the water, despite how hard or solid it is through time and consistency of the flowing water it can change its shape. I'm going to a lot of changes now. I hope I can take shape designed for me and not to harden my heart as a stone fighting everything, but rather to submit myself and let nature take its course.

Thanks for the reminder, Lord.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



29th March 2012

cool
cool collection of Japan Landscape wallpapers
29th March 2012

thanks sara

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb