Back to Asia... onwards and upwards, or so I kept telling myself


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 29th 2010
Published: April 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woke up before my alarm and lazily stretched out in the king size bed, enjoying the coolness of the sheets on the other side. I kicked out my leg and when it didn't reach anything I flipped over to lie star-shaped on the massive mattress. I smiled as I wondered what Ellie was making me for breakfast... until I realised: she wasn't in the kitchen... she'd gone! The memory of her waking me in the middle of the night came flooding back. She'd had to leave at silly o'clock in a taxi to catch her flight to South Africa. Ellie was gone!
My airport experience wasn't the same without Ellie (I arrived at 11 to catch my flight to Singapore). The Skinny Latte didn't taste the same; people watching was no fun; not even "slathering" cheered me up.
My flight to Melbourne seemed to take forever. I watched on my TV screen as the Webcam (attached to the plane) filmed and live-streamed our take-off - all pretty spectacular, especially as you rise through the clouds. I then chose to watch The Blind Side, a new film with Sandra Bullock, which was sweet and made me cry. Only had an hour and a half wait at Melbourne, so soon I was on my next flight heading for Singapore. I watched Law Abiding Citizen which was brilliant. At one point I jumped so much that I emptied the contents of my cup of hot chocolate all over myself and the Asian man sitting next to me. Had to wipe dribbles of hot chocolate off my face with my scarf and I'm pretty sure I've ruined the white cardigan I was wearing.
Once we were off the plane, I grabbed my backpack and met my driver outside arrivals. The hotel offered to book a complimentary limo pick up for me which saved me faffing about late at night.
The driver spoke so fast and with such bad English that I haven't a clue what he was saying. All I caught was the odd word: "Australia wonderful"; "Singapore boring"; "Shopping"; "Noodles"; "Bullshit". That last one took me by surprise too. Well I got the jist that he was dissing Singapore, which was the last thing I wanted to hear since I was to spend the next two nights here. I wanted him to shut up and leave me in peace in the back, but he seemed intent on slurring his life story. He kept handing me business cards and lists of where he can take me, which was a raw reminder of how much you get blagged to spend, spend, spend in Asia.
I arrived at Quincy hotel (a trendy hotel near the affluent area of Orchard Road), raided the minibar then flopped in to bed.

Advertisement



17th April 2010

I enjoyed your Singapore post. I have always wanted to go there. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have the time, check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 26; qc: 116; dbt: 0.1306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb