Singapore Airport


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 17th 2006
Published: March 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have finally arrived at Singapore Airport, after a twelve hour flight from Copenhagen. Theres still another five hours before my next flight (and final *hurray*) to Balikpapan - Indonesia:D

Writing from airports wasnt as good idea as I thought, most arent free and those who are have timelimits, most of you know I have a certain favor of long texts and to top it off, now the keys have moved around with a new keyboard layout 😉

Temperature here is about 27 degrees Celcius clear and sunny and I can only assume it will get hotter as the day gets more mature. One idea that struck me is that most of us know this fact about the water draining in different directions depending if your in the northern or southern hemisphere, but I always been curious what happens when your on the equator. As we flew into Singapore today, the closeups of the airplane with map showed that the equator line passes almost directly through here, so I will try finding a bathroom afterward, pull the plug out and see what happens 😊

Theres not much to say about the airport itself, its like a gigantic taxfree mall with tropical gardens in eighter end. Internet access is few and far between, but after giving in for my coffee thirst, I discovered that Pacific Coffee had their own terminals for customers and these doesnt seem to be in much use, at least at the moment. But Im not surprised, I walked the airport twice, trying to find an available internet access, before finally giving up, buying a cup of coffee and finding these. 😊

Nothing new to add really, there's not much you can write about sitting in an airport waiting for the transit. Hopefully will get a better update tomorrow, when I can relax from the traveling and recouperate.

Until then...

Update 1:
Your of course right Zlazk, the plane wasnt two hours, just exhausted brain typing at the time. Total flight time was 12 hours, 19 if timezones are accounted into the mix.

Update 2:
I ended up trying the water-spin experiment while I was in Singapore, at least it helped pass the time 😊 But I did notice that, once the plug was pulled out the water was unsure of how it was supposed to behave in the drain and made a little turmoil before it finally settled into spinning like I'm used to. But, I think start of the spinning was more caused by the sinks shape than the gravitational pull. Althought it was spinning clockwise, it took no effort to force the spin in the other direction.
Conclusion: Spin is very likely to occur, but the direction is unpredictable 😊 Now Im feel like the mythbusters :D

Advertisement



17th March 2006

Finally there, eh?
Good to hear you got safely this far. Sounds like you're en route to your very own personal paradise... One thing, though; Copenhagen to Singapore in two hours? With the different time zones taken into account? Have fun! See you in the sub-etha...
19th March 2006

Happy journies
Hey Bright! So fun that you are taking us all with you on your adventure! By now you have arrived at your destination, and I bet you are dizzy soaking in all the new surroudings, language, smells, sounds and so on! Looking forward to reading all about it! Have fun!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb