Going home


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 26th 2007
Published: October 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Har Paw VillageHar Paw VillageHar Paw Village

The Three Wise Men from Chinese Culture
Today I took a Round the Island Tour which took in, Har Paw Village, Kranji War Cemetary, Chinese Bright Hill Temple, and Changi Prison Museum. I was really tired after not having had much sleep trying to keep in touch with things at the hospital, and at one point thought that perhaps I should stay in the hotel and rest. I didn't think that would be a good thing to do so set out as planned.

Usually there are about 30 or 40 people on a tour bus taking this tour, but today there were only 4 of us ! We had a really nice personalised tour.

Har Paw Village was a garden donated to the city by the 2 brothers that developed Tiger Balm. Really, it was a bit tacky, but it was colourful!


The Kranji War Cemetary was another reminder of so many lives lost in WW2. I am so amazed at how well these graves are kept. The grass is neatly mown and the graves themselves are weeded constantly and all have flowering plants around them. It is set on a hill with a nice view. A fitting final resting place, it is very
Har Paw Village 2Har Paw Village 2Har Paw Village 2

Just a bit tacky for me!
peaceful.

Next stop was lunch, and for this we were taken to the Orchard Country Club! Very posh!!! We had a nice lunch , sweet & sour fish, a really spicy chicken dish (yummy) , fresh vegetables in oyster sauce, rice, and soup. It was delicious!

We hopped back in our huge bus, and headed for the North East part of Singapore where you can see Jahore, Malaysia. You don't realise how close countries are to each other until you see it like that.

The Changi War Museum was very moving, especially the chapel that had the walls painted in biblical scenes by a POW. Unfortunately you aren't allowed to take photos in the museum but you may be able to see some of things at their website http://www.changimuseum.com/


Even though I was with other people and enjoying their company and the sights we were seeing my mind was wandering to home and hoping that things were going ok.

I finally called Kathy and she let me know that James had woken briefly but then had been put back to sleep, but that things were going well, and that he was stable. I was
War GraveWar GraveWar Grave

Could this be another relative ?
relieved, but I can hear how exhausted, physically and emotionally Kathy is and just want to give her a hug.

I went back to the hotel where I had a much needed forty winks. Once I woke up, I headed out to Chinatown to be amongst the hustle and bustle for the last nigh of my trip.

I've had a ball, enjoyed every minute, even the tough ones, I can laugh about now. I met some really nice, people, and made a few new friends along the way.


Wow - what a journey I have been on!! I can't believe that it's drawing to a close. I'm already thinking about where and when I could go next. Who know's , by the time that comes around Kath may be able to join me and get the much needed break she deserves.

Thanks everyone for taking the time to share in my journey and for leaving messages, they really made me feel as though you were travelling with me.

Now a new journey begins - and another chapter in "The Book of Life".


Lots of love

Di (Ama, mum, Diane, Aunty Di,
War GravesWar GravesWar Graves

They are kept so well
Aunty, etc etc etc)




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

ViewView
View

View from Singapore to Jahore
BuddhaBuddha
Buddha

Buddha in Bright Hill Temple
TempleTemple
Temple

Bright Hill Temple
Kwan Yin BuddhaKwan Yin Buddha
Kwan Yin Buddha

Smaller temple at Bright Hill
Changi ChapelChangi Chapel
Changi Chapel

Replica Chapel at Changi Museum


2nd November 2007

Well done!!!
Well done Di!!! Proud of you! You did it!! I'm so glad you had an awesome time, can't wait to catch up!
5th November 2007

Thank you everyone
Thanks everyone for sharing the experience with me. I had a ball and plan to do it again one day !! Lots of love Di (mum, Ama, Aunty, Aunty Di, Aunty Diane, Diane, etc etc etc)

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb