Singapore - New Life for James!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 25th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I got off my long, long flight from Frankfurt and when I turned my phone on I had a message from my sisiter Kathy to say that they were heading for the hospital with a 50% chance that James would be the successful recipient of donor lungs. This was a moment that I was dreading because I really wanted to be with Kathy and her family to help and support in any way that I can but also a moment that would come quickly and not the months or years that we advised could be.

After a few frantic messages back and forth, it was decided that I wouldn't go straight home to Australia, that I should spend the last 2 days of my holiday here. Whilst this isn't sitting really well with me at the moment it is probably for the best as I will be able to give Kath a break when I get home, as I'm sure she wouldn't take it now.

This is a real trial for me - I think it's a part of the "needing to be needed" part of my personality that I have and have been trying so hard to drop!

I couldn't wait any longer, so I decided to phone Kathy and at least I would be able to hear in her voice how she really is coping. I can't begin to imagine what goes through her mind day in and day out. She says I am the rock - but in fact she is the one that I admire the most. I take my hat off to her, she deserves a medal, along with the rest of her family - it's been a hard 5 or so years for them and the the rest of the family.

I also spoke to James just before he was due to go to theatre for the operation (1:30am Friday, Sydney time)and told him that I loved him and also that I have asked our guardian angels to take extra care tonight and the next few days. This is something that I have done every time he has been in hospital, I hope it helps somehow.

Now my thoughts go to the donor's family, they must really be going through hell right now, but I hope that they will be relieved to know that a tragedy for them may help prolong the life of a 15 year old who needs to get out there and explore the world just as his Aunty has done!!!

Whoever they are - "thank you from the bottom of our hearts" !

Everyone , can you please send some positive thoughts and energy to both families.

I don't think I'll be able to sleep tonight!

Advertisement



26th October 2007

James
Di my prayers and thoughts are with you and your family in this time of great expectations for the life of james. Keep the thoughts positive and as you say the gaurdian angels will be watching over him. Always thinking of you love always. Joyce xoxoxoxo
26th October 2007

Thanks
Thank you Joyce, I have had word that he pulled through the surgery ok, although there were some complications. It will be a day by day thing at the moment. Will keep you posted. Di xxxxx
26th October 2007

hello
Hi Di. I can't imagine how you are feeling right now. I am thinking of you. Try to enjoy the last part of your holiday. James is in the best care possible and you will be home for Kath really soon. Positive thoughts and prayers are going out to your Family Di. See you soon Love Al xx
26th October 2007

Thanks
Thanks Al, I'm ok, but I am worried about Kath because she won't leave his side at the moment, which is to be expected. She hasn't slept much for months, so I'm hoping that she can take a little break when I get there. Love Di xx

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb