We're Here!


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
August 6th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The FlightThe FlightThe Flight

We're off...
Wow! 24 hours in the air and we're finally here! Dylan and I left early in the morning on August 1st bound for Singapore. After the longest flight I want to take in a very long time, we arrived on Firday August 3rd in the middle of the night...confused? So were we!

Dylan is going to be working at the United World College of South East Asia (feel free to check their website, it's crazy) and I will be working at (I just found out by the way...thanks to Mr. Pettigrew for his help) at the Canadian International School. Dylan's school was kind enough to put us up in a hotel for 10 days while we got our heads on straight and battled through some jet leg. This is where I am currently writing from....glowing from a day of apartment seaching (we got a beautiful one, pics soon) and learning that I will be a Admissions Officer at CIS.

Check out some of the pics from our journey so far. Hopefully everyone is doing well back home. Please email either Dylan or I (jkightley@yahoo.com) and let us know how your doing....

Jen


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Japan Japan
Japan

I am loving the massage chair..definatly needed after a 14 hour flight
China TownChina Town
China Town

After some much needed sleep, we decided to become tourists for a few days. Our first stop, China Town
My first meal My first meal
My first meal

We will be eating most of our meals at Hawker Centers, which is like food courts, but really cheap and really healthy. The problem is that when you're from the west, some of the food looks really different from the East. This is the first meal that I chose and ate!
Safety FirstSafety First
Safety First

Singapore is unbelievably clean. There are signs everywhere reminding people how to behave. I'm pretty sure Dylan will be breaking some of these rules...cross your fingers he doesn't get caned
Temples, Mosques and MoreTemples, Mosques and More
Temples, Mosques and More

There are some great mosques and temples in Singapore due to its multi-culturalism. Most of them are open to the public (even while people are praying) but as I learned quickly some are only open to men...oops!
Temples, Mosques and MoreTemples, Mosques and More
Temples, Mosques and More

me taking a photo of Dylan taking a photo of a temple
MRTMRT
MRT

Singapore's subway system is really really cheap and fast. Here I am with my very own MRT card
MRTMRT
MRT

I have learned that Dylan has a real love of maps...all maps...he must consult them wherever we go...probably good as I am always lost
Little IndiaLittle India
Little India

I am! I am!
Little IndiaLittle India
Little India

I took this photo for my brother Murray. He has a hard job working in manual labour, but that seems like childs play compared to the way they do contsruction here...they climb this pile of crap all day to bring tools to the top


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb