Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
June 11th 2007
Published: June 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

The city skyline
The overnight bus to Singapore turned out to be a bus journey from hell. Once again, I was the only foreigner on the bus so directions kept getting lost in translation. The border crossings weren't easy, as when I left the bus I had to head off in a different direction because I held a foreign passport, and then had to find my way back to the correct coach out of about 30 possible coaches. Also, I wasn't given the correct forms when it came to the border crossings, and also I stupidly (in my half asleep state) didn't realise we were about to go through immigration and left my large bag in the bus luggage hold and hard to run back to get it when I realised... the bus driver wasn't pleased.

Finally, on arrival in Singapore at about 6am I realise that my plan of leaving luggage in a cheap hostel for the day isn't going to work very well. I get a taxi over to Orchard Road to check out the YMCA there. It looks more like a hotel and accommodation is way overpriced and they wont store luggage for me. I (slightly foolishly) decide to
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

Roads seem uncongested and clean, and except the most central roads they are lined with trees
search for an internet cafe to track down a cheaper place, but before long I realise that everywhere is closed until 10am for some strange reason. Eventually, after walking around the city for almost two hours with my bags I find a place called Cozy Corner. Seriously, if anyone is staying in Singapore on a budget... stay here!

I walk around and explore the city, trying to cram as much as possible into one day. My first stop is a winding route in the general direction of Chinatown, stopping at the river to take in the view. The city is in stark contrast to everything I have seen in the last 2 months - clean, rule bound and full of western influence.

After Chinatown, I head back out to Orchard Road using the subway. It seems very cheap and efficient, not to mention clean. Orchard Road is the main shopping district and I entertain myself by looking around at some of the very exclusive shops there. After getting bored I head back into the centre of town and wonder around for a while longer, before getting bored and returning to where I'm staying. I end up sleeping until
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

A great spot for a drink watching the world go by
my alarm goes off to make sure I get to the airport in time.

I'd like to come back and give Singapore time to grow on me, but my gut feeling is that this city has nothing to offer backpackers, only tourists with lots of money for cut price electronics or exclusive clothes or people on business.

It feels strange to know I'm leaving Asia after so long, but I've had a nice gentle reintroduction to western life since leaving Thailand. Bring on Australia!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

Just like any other Chinatown, except cleaner and quieter!
The subwayThe subway
The subway

Remember... No food or drink. This rule keeps the subway immaculate, along with the national ban on chewing gum. Durians are a definite no no (They're a very, very smelly Asian fruit)
Subway stationSubway station
Subway station

They even provide paint lines guiding people on how to enter and exit the trains
Orchard RoadOrchard Road
Orchard Road

I started taking random photos as I hadn't seen anything this modern in so long. Looking back, this lift isn't as incredible as I thought it was at the time...


Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb