Singapore Sites


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
January 4th 2007
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post


We boarded a dc-8 with about a dozen other flyers and shot off into the sky... Mom, I'm telling you- for once, dad was not bloating the truth... This charted flight is, simply put, better than anything you could ask for in economy commercial airfare. And they feed the living daylights out of you... We recieved two full meals, candy bars, a sandwich snack, chocolate cake, cookies, and an assortment of drinks throughout the flight.

I basically had 6 seats to myself, two of which I used as good seating for the 3 films they showed, and 3 others as a makeshift bed... It was amazing and the crew was kind and comforting to our every beck and call... I felt odd getting treated so well for a free military flight.

9/10ths through, the flight was one of the best I'd ever been on... But as we began our descent, thunder storms moved into Singapore and caused us quite a bit of trouble. We attempted to land (even got within 200 ft. of the airport) 3 times and then retreated as thick fog made the runway near invisible... The turbulance felt a bit like the Dumbo ride, up and down, up and down... Dan and Dad had fun watching me pray for dear life...

We diverted to another airport and, duh, same thing... Then we went back to the base and finally made a safe landing... We thought our troubles were over but we then had to wait for the tropical storm to pass so we were stuck on the plane for another hour. No fun...

It's hard to imagine that I've already been in two countries, and that with this flgiht to Phuket tomorrow, I will have traveled aboard 3 planes and clocked over 20 hours in the air. It's tiring but far more enjoyable than I thought it would be...

It's tropical here, to say the least... Feels a bit like Florida. And I'm almost too tired to continue this... I could go on and on about the sites of the day but I think I'd better just retreat back to my air conditioned hotel room... We're getting up at 4:40 to board a 7:00 flight to Thailand tomorrow... So I suppose a bit of rest will do this tired old body some good.

I'll say this last thing... Many kids find their parents a bit... embarrasing... Well, I'm POSITIVE my dad holds the heavy weight title... You'll all realize this more and more as my vacation continues. Yay for me...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb