2020 Winter


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
January 19th 2020
Published: January 22nd 2020
Edit Blog Post

I wasn't in such a rush to get away this year. Both Kenji and Stevie were home for Christmas, and Stevie and his girlfriend stayed on for New Year. So there was time to pack up the gallery carefully, and all the artists and craftspeople came to take their work away. We can give the space a good clean before reopening with an exciting new exhibition , "JUNGLE" , collated by stained glass artist Tamsin Abbott, on 28th March.

So that gave me plenty of time to sort things out and take Lottie-dog to her holiday home with Tutu and Dave in Somerset so she doesn't have to watch the annual suitcase packing.

One sad event ..... a reluctant goodbye to Gormley-pig , who had been unwell for about six weeks and wasn't responding to medication. His sister Tracey died when I was away last winter and I thought he'd pine away without her. But he surprised us all by taking on a new lease of life, growing a lovely new coat (thanks to magic cream from Audrey) and being cheerful all summer. He was fourteen, and I think that's a good age for a pig. The field was horribly empty without him.

After leaving the house clean and tidy for the friends and visitors who'll be staying there while I'm away, I set off to Birmingham Airport with Julie, who dropped me off in good time. I'm flying to Singapore on Swiss Air via Zurich. I did this a couple years ago and liked the night flight, the efficiency and ...... the chocolate. It also means that on the way back home in March I can stop off in Zurich for a couple of days and visit Gill and Walter.

I had plenty of time to have a snack and wander around the duty free shops. I bought some elegant reed diffusers for presents. Eventually we were on the flight to Zurich and arrived there late in the evening. I've never seen anyone I know on a flight before, so was amazed when I got off the plane and into the bus taking passengers to the terminal building. Angela and John Walton had been on the same flight from Birmingham, and just as astonished as I was! They were off on the second leg of their journey, Zurich to Hong Kong and then on to New Zealand to see their grandchildren.

We navigated the airport and our gates were near each other, so we could keep catching up to continue conversations. My Birmingham purchase of the reed diffusers delayed me - I'd forgotten that we'd have to go through airport security again and as they contained liquid , they had to open them and test it. I was convinced they'd be taken off me, so was amazed when they were returned, packaging a bit battered.

It's always sobering to stand in the queue of passengers waiting to board those big flights, and amazed at the number of people who are going to be my fellow passengers. Tired children with tousled hair clutch upside down teddies.

So at last I was on on the flight to Singapore, just willing the time away with food, book and a couple of films.The passenger in the seat in front of me had his seat tipped back as far as possible for most of the flight. Feeling claustrophobic . But a night flight is good, especially on Swiss Air as all is calm, and they give you chocolate!

At last there's the stirring as the flight ends and the passengers start sorting themselves out, refreshing themselves, filling in arrival documents ..... and we're there! Out through immigration, collect my bag and I'm off to the taxis. By now it was about 7.30/8pm at night and we sped along the highway between tall blocks of flats and lush vegetation between carriageways and at the roadside.

Since I visited Kath last year she has moved apartment . Her condominium was bought up en bloc last year and will be torn down and rebuilt (this is Singapore) and she's moved into another flat nearby. The air is still, warm and heady. The smell of damp vegetation mixes with the aroma of wonderful Singapore dinner smells from the other apartments. I felt wide awake as it was only early afternoon back home in England. I knew that accepting the offer of a G+T was probably the wrong decision but it was too difficult to refuse. Soon after my arrival Gail and Ausaf came in. They're visiting from Hawaii and had been out visiting friends and places. We all lived and worked in Singapore in the 70's and 80's. Whenever we get together the years roll away. Gail had brought some
High Tea at the RegisHigh Tea at the RegisHigh Tea at the Regis

Kath's birthday bash
nasi lemak back with her. They'd already eaten and despite our protests Kath and I managed to clean the plates of food.We excused ourselves .... it was the way we were brought up.... no waste!

Sleep on the first night never comes easily when there's an eight or nine hour time difference. And then when the morning sunlight begins to light up the bedroom it's time to fall into a deep sleep.

I was woken up by the delicious smells coming from the kitchen. Ausaf was cooking us some sliced potatoes and stir fried vegetables for breakfast. My good intentions to loose those extra Christmas pounds will have to be delayed.Gail, Kathy and I then went to the local hairdressers at the end of the road. It's such a treat. A wash and blow dry and a shoulder massage : heavenly! And it's about 3am in England!

Kath has recently had a birthday , so we celebrated it belatedly with High Tea at The Regis, a hotel at the top of Orchard Road.I really think that it stands where I worked at ATT language school in the 70's. Apparently Korean President Kim Jong-un stayed there when he came to meet Donald Trump. Gail, Ausaf and their daughter, Hani , who works in Singapore, joined us. And we ladies with just-hairdressered hair ! Little sandwiches and savoury pastries, and wonderful cakes and desserts. The diet gets pushed back even further! We toasted Kath with fizz.

Back at Kath's flat Gail and Ausaf started to pack ready for an early departure in the morning and a horrendously long flight back to Hawaii via the Philippines and Japan. They also checked the status of their flight as there'd been a volcanic eruption in the Philippines. Friend Maureen turned up with some Hainanese chicken rice for our supper and despite all the scrummy food we'd packed away at the high tea.... we still managed to eat.

Next morning we waved goodbye to Gail and Ausaf and all their bags. Kath drove us to Holland Village and we checked out the shops. I got some photos printed for a Thai visa extension and got a new battery put in an old watch. But I resisted buying anything for blue-ginger gallery. I'll be back in Singapore for my return flight.

In the evening Kath and I went to my mother-in-law's for a delicious home-cooked dinner. It was nice to be able to chat to her and show her photos of Kenji and Stevie's trip home for Christmas.

The next day was Saturday. I'd had trouble sleeping at night ( jet lag again) and also at dinner the night before my brother-in-law had told me that an old friend's husband had passed away two years ago. I felt so bad. How had that happened and I didn't know? I'd imagined that her silence had been due to the miles that separated us. A message home to Annie next door, and she found my address book and sent me Linda's address and phone number. I called and it was lovely to talk to each other. Hopefully we can meet up when I get back to Singapore before flying home.

We did a few 'jobs' , taking a Kenji Lim print to the framers for Kath, going to the ( amazing ) hospital to pick up a prescription for Kath, going to Holland Village to get some photos printed. Kath had to run back and put another parking card on the car, and the heavens opened , Singapore style. She was drenched but had grabbed a couple of umbrellas from her car. Meanwhile I had a lovely conversation with the lady who runs the shop. She rents some space to the photographer who does passport photos and family portraits. She's been in that shop since she was seventeen and worked for an Englishman called Mr Fish who stayed on in Singapore after WW2. He was a philatelist . She multi tasks to keep the business going.

With umbrella cover we hurried back to the car and went back to Kath's to dry off.

My last evening in Singapore and we joined my mother-in-law and some of the family at a seafood restaurant at the old Singapore racetrack building. It's only a week before Chinese New Year so the restaurant was busy and the seasonal salad for Chinese New Year had to be the first dish. Lo Hei ( it goes by her names too) or Prosperity Toss. Everyone stands up and tosses the ingredients together on the serving dish with their chopsticks, calling out for good health and prosperity for the coming year . It's the year of the rat. A lovely meal and good company.

Next day I could take my time with packing as I didn't have to leave for the airport until late morning. I've left my jacket, boots and sweater in Kathy's apartment for my journey home.

At the airport I bought some Singapore pineapple tarts and bak kea ( barbecue pork) for Nui and Kung, my hosts in Chiangmai. The flight to Chiangmai from Singapore is almost three hours. I arrived in sunshine and had a wonderful greeting from my hosts and their three dogs. It's so nice to be back. Now for some serious relaxation!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb