Marina Bay and National Museum


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Raffles Marina
October 20th 2013
Published: October 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Not much to report but thought I'd get some of the pictures off my camera. After Bryan and I returned to Singapore we had a few days to kill. First, we went to the National Museum of Singapore. I'd been there once before but wanted to go again. The museum, I believe, is Singapore's largest but don't quote me on it. The collection is housed in a gorgeous English colonial building. The point in going was to check out the 'Princely Treasures From The House of Liechtenstein' exhibit but sadly it had ended a week before. Fortunately on my previous visit I had seen it so I am able to pass on a small piece of the history I learned.

The collection that was on display is part of a larger collection owned by the Princely Family of Liechtenstein and is one of the world's leading private art collections. The House of Liechtenstein has been collecting art since the 16th century and most of it centers on High-Renaissance and Baroque styles. For those who are unaware, as I was, of exactly who or what Liechtenstein is, it is an alpine country in Europe bordered by Switzerland and Austria. It is technically a principality governed by the prince of the Liechtenstein house. The collection was quite impressive and I was disappointed not to be able to see it again.

For the rest of the time Bryan was in Singapore we wandered around to different hawker centers, had dinner down at Clarke Quay, and hung out around Marina Bay. I have been craving Mexican food since coming to Singapore so in an attempt to satisfy my craving we went to Senor Taco around Clarke Quay. It wasn't quite what I was craving but I think it'll tide me over.

I can't remember if I mentioned it in my previous entry or not but I am off to Kuala Lumpur next weekend. It will probably be my last bit of traveling until the semester ends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb