Throwback @ Ion Sky Orchard (Nov 2014)


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Orchard Road
May 17th 2015
Published: May 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 22nd November 2014

I always wanted to do a blog of this wonderful place at the heart of Orchard Road. Having visited Ion Sky since last November, this entry came half a year late. I remembered vividly when the observatory was first opened, it charged a fee of $15 for the admission to Level 55. This was however waived and I was able to get in for free when I visited.

I chit-chatted with the friendly concierge who informed me that the observatory is opened to the public everyday except when it is closed for private events. Getting to the top of Ion Sky is straight forward. Access is provided via a pair of fast moving elevators at level 4 of the shopping mall where the Ion Art Gallery is located.

Once at level 55, I could stay for as long as I liked with paranomic views of the Singapore City. Considering that this was a weekend when I visited, the observatory was not crowded with visitors. There were clean bathrooms and to enhance the viewing experience, the telescopes could be utilised for free (Surprise surprise).

Since this is one hidden gem in pricey Orchard Road, I'm not sure when the landlord would start charging for admission again. I certainly hoped that more visitors would discover this fine destination for a different perspective of Singapore.

Trust me, this is certainly worth it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb