India invades Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
August 13th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's sunday night and there's a certain something in the air here that I can't quite put my finger on.

I'd been warned last time I was here that sunday nights in Little India can be quite mad, though I can't rememeber why exactly.

Looking down from the safety of my dorm window Indian men are starting to crown the streets. sitting on curbs and talking in loud excitable voices. They walk arm in arm or hand in hand down the narrow roads making the whole affair look not dissimilar to gay pride, but no, I jest, gay pride is much more fashionable...thinking about it, Indian men could be the most unfashionable demographic on the planet, but I digress...

I've just checked with the waiter, after munching down a delish Byriani, and he's said that Monday is the day of rest and every week there is a big gathering on Sundays since noone has to work the next day...so basically it's a Sat night piss up!

I made it back to Singapore yesterday after spending that last 4days in Malaysia hanging around in KL with a couple of fellow Brits who turned out to be really wicked people - there wasn't a night went by when we weren't getting drunk in the lounge, smuggling in bottles of vodka and sitting up talking until the eraly hours.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 27; qc: 111; dbt: 0.1433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb