A return...to Little India


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
June 11th 2009
Published: June 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so it's not really a return, but it is kind of India, at least that's what I thought when I arrived from Oz on Tuesday evening. The sounds, the smells, the people, the heat, the nearly getting run over! Yeah, it felt like I was back in India, and I hadnt really prepared myself for that kind of feeling. Being tired and hungry didn't really help either. I wandered around by myself in search of dinner, and thought to myself, what am I doing here. But after some sleep, and free breakfast the next day, I was more open to the challenges I would soon be facing. I got up, went for a look around, and realised that actually Singapore isn't really much like India at all. It's clean, and tidy, has a decent road system, no cows roaming the streets, AND it even has recycling boxes on the streets. I guess in a way, Singapore is a good way to prepare me for the rest of Asia. I in no way expect it all to be so clean, but it has readied my mind for the fact that i've left Oz and New Zealand now, and its gonna be a bit different from here on out.
I've now spent a couple of days here, and I think thats enough. I've been to 'Sentosa' island, an island resort type place just off the coast. It had some nice gardens, but it all seemed a bit 'organised' fun for my liking. The beaches looked out on the harbour with all the massive ships which was a bit strange, and not really the 'beautiful' effect they were trying to achieve. I've also seen Chinatown, which was nice and I went for a vegetarian health food option for lunch, which was pretty tasty. I've also wandered round the 'Esplanade' and seen the 'Merlion' water feature in all its glory. Oh, and I've had dinner 3 nights in a row (perhaps this will be my 4th?). I'm ready to move on now, which is lucky as I am flying to Bangkok this evening.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb