Waiting for something, says the taxi driver


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Holland Village
September 2nd 2010
Published: September 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sermon in Singapore


“Everyone is waiting for something” said the Singaporean taxi driver when I asked him why is he waiting to visit the place that he likes the most, the place that he visited thrice in his life last of which was in 1994, the place where his god lives! Then the driver went on to explain that this god is the god of gods, the almighty. That he cannot visit the Almighty’s home without an invitation from the Omnipresent. The invitation is what the driver is waiting for, that his god is omnipotent and omnipresent and that nothing moves with out him moving it. Interestingly the god is a he and can only be a he. And hence a visit can only be attempted when he sends the invite with his signature sign off.

Here is where the conversation takes an interesting twist. I ask him why would the driver have to visit “a place” if his almighty is omnipresent. He goes quiet for a minute. I congratulate myself on my wits (for no rhyme of reason I believe I am smarter than a taxi driver), I thought I got him. I was so full of myself that I did not realize he was negotiating a sharper twist - driving down a spiraling flyover to blend into the speeding traffic from the adjoining express way - before he answered my bright question. He said "sir, tell me how many rooms do you have in your house". I said "6". In how many do you sleep? I said 1, what are the other rooms for? I answered, a living room, a dining room, a kitchen, others bedrooms, a study etc. Where does the whole family meet? more often in the dining or living room, i answered. Are these rooms what they are because they are different or are they because of the furniture? Of course the furniture! Then he said "this is exactly what god does to the world Mr. Smart pants! He created a vast world where a man can create and destroy his thought the form the thought creates while being unable to make an iota of difference to the actual space itself. God gives the man an opportunity to feel self sufficient, independent..


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb