Pouring with rain in Sweat-land...


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bukit Batok
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

... so I thought I'd start writing an entry. Heading to Perth tomorrow, pretty excited!!

So on Tuesday (21st) went for my run and sit-ups :p and walked the whole of Tanglin and Orchard road, stopping to get stuff and explore along the way. People should not give me money, as I WILL just go and buy a load of CDs... got one of my memory cards put on disc as well, incase I get the urge to take a hell of a lot more photies. Hoyed a New York salad (healthy living) and went to the Singapore National Museum - very interesting, the interactive section was unbelievably massive though!! Went to Raffles Hotel for a Singapore Sling (couldn't resist, the only time I'll drink Gin) :p and caught the MRT to Harbour Front station to meet Paul and Inny for dinner (why there are 4 different taxi stands at one stop, I'll never know...) so we went to a revolving restaurant, which was awesome, funny though, soimetimes you actually felt it moving!! Nice food, Paul and Inny weren't too keen though. Hoyed it back, watched more of Red Cliff II, and spoke to Kezzle on the phone for a bit, had been too long!!

Wed 22nd - watched the rest of Red Cliff II (such an awesome film) and went to get my IC sorted, after many meetings - dear god, they had all my info wrong!! I speak Hokkien, am Chinese, of Singapore Nationality, Christian, and live in HOrwich apparently. Fun times. And the woman kept speaking to Paul instead of me, how rude!! Some things I hate about Asian culture :p we got a row for eating in the place too, haha. Hoyed it to the reservoir where I hired a flat-topped kayak for an hour (they wouldn't let me have the normal one cuz I don't have certification of my awesome skillz in a kayak) but you CAN officially brace a flat-topped kayak (though you get friggin' soaking!!) so nice and chilled. Went back and showered, and got taken out for satay, yum. Spoke to the family on the phone - was awesome to actually speka to Dad for once, and a clear line!!

Thurs 23rd - went for my run, started writing letters, and went out for lunch to a nice Thai place with Carmen and Paul, was awesome to see her again, just chatted about life in general and showed picsof the family. Bought Inny a b'day pressie (she's 46 tomorrow!!) and bought flowers to put on my Grandfather and Uncle's grave. Stopped by a Dragon Kiln pottery place on the way, the burning tunnel is massive, and they still use it!! Got a nice pic of it actually. Then went to the graveyard... was pretty sad like, they both died so young, Grandfather at 45 of lung cancer, Uncle at 31 of suicide. All the graves have pictures on them as well, is quite strange, both good looking guys. Jason's (uncle) grave is so kool though, on the earth patch on it, a tree with orange flowers randomly started growing, and its massive now!! Ended up going on a tour of NTU university searching for the road to Paul's old army base, and nearly drove in to the live firing range on the way :p then went to play squash, played Paul and the nice guy Eddy that I met last time 😊 went for a swim, lay and looked at the stars in the pool for a bit... the few I saw were beautiful, but stars are very much a South Africa thing, me and Rose lay and looked at them on our 2-week course... daaaaaaamn!! :p they're so beautiful in Harrismith. Missing Iona as well, meh. Ach well 😊 so went back and Inny had started cooking, I looked after the spaghetti :D Paul tried to complain about how it was cooked and I kaked on him, was funny!! He's so ungrateful sometimes, needs put in his place like.

Fri 24th - got up nice and late and went out for lunch with Irene and Jerlene and Sherlene - was fun!! Picked up Irene and Jerlene at their place, got given a load of stuff (another designer handbag…) :p and met Sherlene at Swansons, had fishy stuff and they bought me a massi sundae thing, was god, struggled to finish it though!! Went shopping with Jerlene and Irene and had some hectic conversations about stuff - I learned a lot!! I really like them, we get on really well. Me and Jerlene met Paul and Inny again to go to Sentosa, we went on the Luge - sooooo much fun, I turned in to a 10-year old kid again!! Totally beasted everyone on it :p its basically a little gravity-powered vehicle you sit in, and you steer it and try not to brake too much at the corners or you totally slow down!! Caught some air (almost) at some of the corner-inclines :D got a photo and went on the skyride as well, nice and chillaxing. Went for dinner at a posh restaurant on Sentosa for Inny’s 46th b’day, after hoying a bottle of wine in the golf club lounge (don’t ask) - was a very nice meal, everyone was disgusted by my rare bloody steak though :p went back home and drank the non-alcoholic champagne (Inny is allergic to alcohol) good times!!

Sat 25th - up nice and early for a run, then headed to the river front to see the Liverpool team cruise up the river, was kool, one of them no idea which) winked and posed for a photo, quite a nice looking one too (unfortunately that team are not graced with good looks) the whole area was awash with Asian and English Liverpool fans, funny to see the pastiness alongside the tannedness!! And the Asians putting on English accents - class :p wandered Boat Quay and Clarke Quay, and met Carmen and Kane and Nikki (her husband and daughter) for chocolate at Max Brenners - was awesome as per, you put the chocolate and milk in and melt it and scoop and suck it out with a metal straw thing, and they got fondant as well. Kane was very nice and so was Nikki, though quiet!! Bought tix for Sing Sollar, a musical I wanted to see, and watched some free jazz and acoustic rock, very nice!! Saw some of the National Day Parade rehersal, kaked myself when the 21 guns went off unexpectedly!! Saw a chinook close up :D my fave helicopter, and some apaches as well, very nice. Went to my old time fave Pepper Lunch for dinner - they have the ncest cheapest steaks ever!! Headed back to clean up then went out to a cheesy Singaporean place (was good tho actually) with the typical live band and dancers doing recent covers, pretty kool!! Wandered around a bit, did the G-swing (you sit in it and it shoots you up) with a random Londoner, was funny, he had his eyes shut for the first half!! Came back and hoyed to bed I think.

Sun 26th - slept semi-late, and was about to start filling out my application for the Boeing Busrary, but got a last-minute invite out with Dennis and his permenant gf Sandy for lunch - we didn’t even see them at first!! Quite nice pork soup, splashed everywhere though!! Saw their new penthouse and he gave me more shampoo :p was kool. Went to see Sing Dollar, was honestly one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen, it was basically slagging off Singapore and some other countries (including the UK at one point!!) for being money-obcessed. And for the random other-language songs, we had an English subtitles screen, so it was all good. I understood 95% of the jokes, “Singlish” isn’t that bad really :p after that, we went to play squash, I improved my bolsting, and went for a swim. Then went for tapas!! :D was awesome, never actually had proper tapas before, even in Barca (they eat so damn late there) who knew it could be so filling!! Came back, spoke to my Roy on skype, and hoyed to bed.

And today, Mon 27th, got up fairly late, handwashed some handwash stuff, hoyed brekkie/a shower, and filled out my bursary form thing. The Outward Bound Singapore folk got in contact, and I arranged to go see them this aft!! Was awesome. After picking up Pauls maw, we went to the jetty and the boat picked us up (used the most disgusting portaloo EVER) and Paul’s mum gave me a bag of this awesome fruit, mango-something, you have to crush it and eat the little segments inside, damn good!! Guy called Elton met us at the other side - he was an instructor on standby that day, he was really kool and helpful, showed us around, got us snacks and drinks and saw all the gear/facilities, they have awesome facilities, seriously, its so obvious they’re Government funded!! Gorgeous island as well. Abundance of staff, plasma screens, relaxing room for staff, nice swimming pool… daaaaaaamn!! Think the participants are in more luxury that OBSA though, which isn’t a good thing, but overall the facility they have is top class, really. And it was so good of them to have me come see and give me someone for the whole afternoon to show me around and stuff, really grateful for it. Looked at a really interesting book about all the OB’s in the world (SA wasn’t in it though - think the book was written before OBSA was founded) some gorgeous pics of Lock Eil (sp?!) and the Ullswater one, def wanna check them out when I get home!! Hoyed the ferry back, and went out for dinner to a sushi place - raw mussels are theeee best. Had so much seafood this holiday :D love it (sorry Iona) :p managed to sneak away to buy them a pressie, then Paul insisted I try this mad durian ice-cream… I don’t like durian, for sure :p had durian oreo cake as well, which I made myself eat, but daaaaaamn, it tastes nearly as bad as it smells!! Not my thang :p drove by the “naughty” part of Singapore, dropped off Paul’s mum to gamble, then Paul let me drive his car round about the Bukit Panjang area where he lives - his car is soooo nice to drive!! Automatics require so little effort its unreal. He was dead impressed with my driving, I don’t think he believed me before when I said I could drive, haha. Now about to start packing, ugh.

Well, shall speak to you guys in Oz-land I guess!! Take care and the like xxxxx :D

Advertisement



30th July 2009

HAD to comment on the automatic car thing - SO TRUE. I understand why Americans are shit drivers, it's so easy here! :P Also, did the Asians put on scouse accents or generic English ones? Being scouse would be funny!! I miss you lots my dear xxxxxxx
4th August 2009

Haha
Nah the younger ones put on American accents!! The older ones are just unintelligable... :p xxxxxx miss you too shiba!!

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb