Last Night in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bugis Village
February 4th 2012
Published: February 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Singapore Sling!Singapore Sling!Singapore Sling!

Kate thoroughly enjoys her adult beverage.
I promised myself before leaving Canada that I would enjoy a Singapore Sling during my time in Singapore. Completely cheesy, I know, but it had to be done. Alcohol is quite expensive in Singapore – they make mixed drinks in Canada look quite cheap. Examples:

A half pint of Tiger beer cost about S$9.00 at an Irish pub.

Mixed drinks cost at least S$10.00.

My Singapore Sling cost S$17.00.



Yes, S$17.00. I’ve never paid that much for a drink in my life. The most expensive drink I think I’ve ever had was a Screwdriver in the south of France for about 10€, but that was kindly purchased for me.

…but I said I’d do it. I researched prices for a Singapore Sling in Singapore, and it turns out that the S$17.00 was quite reasonable by Singapore standards. It is their drink, after all. I could’ve paide S$24.00 at the Raffles Hotel if I’d wanted to!

I definitely enjoyed my drink. It was a delicious S$17.00 well spent, even if I was cringing at the price. I enjoyed my last night in Singapore at the local café, chatting with Griff and Dan, one of my dorm roommates I’d met earlier that evening. He’s teaching English in Korea right now also. The owners of the Countryside Café were really nice too – we’d got talking with them about traveling the night before too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb